My bike, the mongrel!

Until very recently, I hadn’t ridden a bike for more years than I care to remember. My current stead is one that I have salvaged from the local woods and hedges, seems bikes and bits of bikes end up as fly-tipped rubbish. It seems sad but without this I could never afford to have a bike at all!
My bike consists of four separate bikes (or at least parts of bikes that I discovered on walks I take) that had been abandoned, the frame and tyres came first. I had been walking by this old bike that had been thrown into a hedge, for about two weeks. It could have been there longer before I first noticed it. The wheels were totally buckled but amazingly the tyres and inner tubes were in very good order along with the frame and pedals. My next discovery was the handlebars, I found these on their own, lobbed into the corner of a large open area mainly used for dog walking.
Next came the discovery of another bike in the dog walking field. It had been there a long time as rust had set in. It had no seat or handlebars, the tyres were shot but the wheels were in decent order. After some TLC, a few spokes salvaged from my first find, the addition of the tyres and inner tubes, they were good to go. The rear wheel even had a Sturmey Archer three gear hub that worked free with more TLC and a long soak in some light oil, so I now had some gears!
From the two partial bikes found I also salvaged all cables, brake callipers, brake pads, brake and gear levers and a bell. I was now on the lookout for a saddle which I found all on it’s own about a week after I had completed the build of the rest of the bike. I now had pedal power to get me out and about. It may be a bit of a mongrel but it’s a 30” gents frame and the wheels fit and rotate just fine. The brakes and gears work perfectly and I’m more than pleased with the outcome. My only purchase has been mudguards, even they were cheap enough costing less than £5!
Finally, just yesterday I found a rack that I will soon be attaching so that I can carry anything I need other than loading up my rucksack. I may even be able to add panniers to this rack, you never know what I’ll discover next!
To allay any fears, any unusable parts of any of the bikes I’ve salvaged have all been disposed of as they should have been in the first place.
I’m not up to the distances I rode in my youth just yet, doing a ten mile circular route is about the best I can do but I’m feeling the benefit in my health, both physical and mental plus of course the more obvious cash benefits of not having to pay out bus fares every time I want to go into the city.
Comments are closed.
NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose, poetry, and music.

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

