Back to normal (well almost)

My first attempt at mince piesAfter everything that happened yesterday, today was a lot more normal. I came to life at around a normal time, I did everything everyone else does in the mornings normally and my brain was much more up for life in general.

Once I’d been down the shops stocking up on the fresher essentials one needs I decided that I would finally tackle some cooking. Nothing major but I’d had the ingredients in for making mince pies for nearly a week and I’d been putting of the day when I made them. Today turned out to be the day!

I love cooking but I hate making pastry, I just can’t seem to roll it out nice and neatly like they do on the TV. I end up covered in flour with bits of pastry stuck to everything no matter how hard I try, no matter how much flour I spread around, the kitchen ends up like a bomb site, I’m covered in flour and there’s pastry everywhere it shouldn’t be.

Still I got there and eventually ended up with twelve rather scrumptious mince pies (see photo, they are the ones I made). They all soon disappeared so they couldn’t have been that bad but the mess took a while to clear up once I’d finished cooking them.

Here is the recipe I used:
225g of plain flour
pinch of salt
3 tbsp of caster sugar plus extra for dusting
115g of butter, diced
1 egg lightly beaten
around 350g of mincemeat

1) Sift flour and salt into a bowl, stir in sugar. Rub in butter until you have breadcumbs, stir in egg and gather into a smooth dough.
2) Chill dough in fridge for 30 minutes, meanwhile pre heat oven to 220C/425f and grease a 12 cup bun tin.
3) Roll out dough to about 3mm thick, cut 12 rounds with a 75mm cutter. Press iunto prepared bun tin and fill with mincemeat. Gather remains of dough, roll out to about 3mm and with a slightly smaller cutter, cut 12 lids. Slightly moisten lids around the edge and place on top of those already in the bun tin.
4) Bake for around 15-20 minutes until golden brown, remove and cool on rack, dust with extra caster sugar. Serve with pot of fresh tea πŸ˜‰

Enjoy

BTW, we had more snow today and it looks as if we will get snow showers overnight, I’m so excited (not).

Comments are closed.
NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose, poetry, and music.

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

