What It Means To Me (Midwinter) Pt II

hauling of the yule log

Image via Wikipedia

Pre-Christian history: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christmas#History

Yuletide: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yuletide

New Year: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_year

I got to thinking about what I had written yesterday about Christmas and some of the meaning of it to me. I lay in bed awaiting sleep and thought more on the tradition of Christmas and how I feel about it.

For me I would be much happier if I could celebrate something like the Yuletide (see link above) that used to be celebrated and still is in some places. I end up having to have my holidays the same time as everyone else because of the adoption of the Gregorian calender in our society. I also end up having holidays throughout the year because they have been adopted by the countries government, given the choice I certainly would not celebrate Christmas at all (in my mind I don’t).

For me, modern Christmas is nothing more than a celebration of mass consumerism at it very worst. People purchase goods and food they don’t need or eat. They buy gifts for others without thinking about the other persons needs (in my family we actually ask people what they want, including kids), in general we probably celebrate Christmas very little, Yuletide or Yule would be a more appropriate word to give it.

Society then moves onto New Year! Another rather odd time to be celebrating the coming of Spring because that is what we are actually celebrating. Surely somewhere a bit nearer the Spring equinox would be more appropriate? Everyone celebrates this in their own way but again for me it is a time for being with family, we’ve often been together for at least a week anyway. It often means fond farewells until “The next time” we meet after celebrating the simple joy of being together and remembering those that are no longer in our lives but most certainly are in our thoughts.

What ever you believe, whatever you celebrate, I hope you enjoy the season and holidays as best you can. Don’t over judge me for my thoughts, unlike many religions, I’m not ramming them down your throat. You don’t have to read this.

Comments are closed.
NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose and poetry

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

