Snow & a Great Bus Journey (for a change)

A girl and her iPod

Image by jcolman via Flickr

More snow and I guess a certain amount of chaos around the country. In my small corner it has been quite a pleasant release from the day to day boredom of life. When you don’t have to be out and about doing stuff or getting places then snow covered trees and hedges are quite a pleasant thing to look at and I’ve been doing a lot of that today. My daughter had a snow day so lazing around has been pretty much the order of the day, or at least the morning.

This afternoon we had an appointment to keep but the buses where running pretty much to time and we got to our appointment on time with no stress for a change! On the way home we had the best bus journey I’ve had in ages, as did just about everyone else on the upper deck of our bus home.

A young girl, possibly 16 or 17, was listening to her iPod. It was pretty loud, we could hear it four rows behind where this girl was sat. The best bit was when she started to sing, now I know we all do this, especially in our own homes but on a bus full of people? I think not!

To me it sounded like she was singing some nursery rhyme that I had missed when my kids where growing up, she sang “One step forward, One step back” over and over, or at least that’s what it sounded like to me. My daughter informed me that it was the latest chart hit that the girl was listening to and singing (I hate getting old!). The poor girl was giving it her all, really out of tune and entertaining all on the upper deck of the bus.

Then I think a light turned on for the poor girl because she must have suddenly realised where she was and turned around to see all these faces smiling at her. She went a lovely shade of red! I thought she would then get off at the next stop out of pure embarrassment but no, she turned forward once again, and carried on with her journey as if nothing had happened.

I know I’ve moaned about bus travel, especially my travelling companions but this evening was a complete reversal of everything that had gone before. The young girl definitely added to our journey, I hope she goes on to sing her way home every evening and I hope I get on the same bus as her another time.

I wish all days were this good!

Previous Post
Next Post

2 Comments

  1. oh i hope you don’t mind, i found your site through a comment you left for aquatom1968. what a wonderful journey! it makes me think how amazing this place would be if more people sang out to their heart’s content.

    • Thanks for reading and commenting.

      I agree, if only there were more people like this young teenager around in the world

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose and poetry

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

