More Word Stuff

The cover of the album American Beauty (1970),...

Image via Wikipedia

I have a palindrome as my screen-saver, one that any self respecting Dead Head might use. It is one of the simple screen-savers that Microsoft package with windows and is simply a word that I’ve chosen tumbling about the screen. My palindrome is the word Aoxomoxoa, pronounced “OX-OH-MOX-OH-AH”, as far as I’m aware it has no meaning and is a piece of art using letters. Besides being a straightforward palindrome it can also read the same when viewed from the rear, therefore it makes a good looking (to these eyes) screen-saver when spelt like “AoXoMoXoA” then refining some of the settings within the screen-saver so that it looks as if it reflects colours, shades and objects.

After looking up palindromes on wikipedia, I spotted a link at the bottom of the page “Ambigram”. I’ve never heard of this before so I click on it and hey, more world or letter art. Click the link, it’s all rather cool and unknown to me there is another mention of Grateful Dead album cover artwork, this time the “American Beauty” album. I knew it could read differently when viewed from certain angles but I’m learning stuff today, real stuff!

Previous Post
Comments are closed.
NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose and poetry

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

