Lazy Sunday (Afternoon)

Image by Kilarin via Flickr

Image by Kilarin via Flickr

Today has been one of sloth and a lot of thought, plus quite a bit of writing..

First off, I gained some motivation to finish and finally publish some short stories that have been languishing on my PC for ages after reading some entries on other bloggers blogs (Pen-Poem’s and Stuff and Mikes Random Thoughts). One appeared today, the others will appear in due course. This has been an off and on job all day.

Then there was the sloth part of the day. During times of lost inspiration or just thoughts about how each story should end or be edited or in one case, almost completely rewritten, I’ve couched out in front of the TV. I’ve watched half an episode of five or six TV programmes today, more lost in thought than actually digesting their contents.

I’ve also prepared and cooked a roast diner for my daughter and me for our evening meal, something I try to do most Sundays. It is one thing that lives on in my life from my childhood. I love my Sunday roasts but I tend to have them early evening rather than just after midday as my  parents used to like it. You simply can’t beat a roast with all the trimmings to finish off the weekend, even if it has been on the whole a pretty lacklustre one.

Now my thoughts are turning to a hot bath and a shave. Then maybe read for a while, then it will be time for my nightly ritual of turning off the TV whilst we have our bedtime drinks and a chat. Seems my daughter has got the writing bug (she rarely writes or reads so I encourage her in every way possible), so I think our conversation tonight might be about our respective writing efforts of the day.

Tomorrow is a new day with new and varied possibilities, let’s hope some of them are at least pleasing.

2 Comments

  1. wonderfully funny picture, had me laughing straight out…
    and I get like that sometimes, I have a few stories which I started and left hanging in the air, waiting for inspiration to bite me I suppose. Ouch!!… 😉
    Hope your possibilities turned out well… xPenx

    • Sadly I can take no credit for the picture other than spotting it amongst those offered by the software but I also thought it was funny and reflected the sort of day I’d had.

      The day itself has been OK-ish, could have been better but could have been a whole lot worse. At least I have a roof over my head and food in the larder, others I encountered today have neither but life’s what we make it I guess.

NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose, poetry, and music.

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

