What This Soul Needs

I’m feeling a bit down in the dumps today, no reasons for it, I just am.

Might it be a summers heat
offering warmth to my back?
Is it the soft and gentle breeze
taking all my thoughts from me?
Could it be springs sparkling rain
promising new growth from old?

Is it the feel of a hand in mine
soft gentle fingers entwined?
Or might it be a gentle caress
lips touching mine so tenderly?
Could it be deep searching eyes
finding depths I cannot see?

To be at peace within this life
my soul needs to find new fruits
I need more than life’s intimacies
to give this soul a life renewed.
What this soul is searching for
is peace within body and soul.

©2010 Trevor Litchfield
Creative Commons Licence
”What This Soul Needs” by Trevor Litchfield is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at https://telautograph.wordpress.com/about-2/.

2 Comments

  1. ’tis this weather, plus dark mornings and early darkening drawn in nights..Maybe?…Thoughtful Poem, what do all our souls need? Peace plus contentment , it’s finding what brings this state of mind that’s difficult…(for me, anyway) …xPenx

    • Thanks Pen
      As my lines suggest, I’m struggling to find that state of mind today yet I felt really quite good this morning. I think you’re right about the long dark hours at this time of year though.

NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose and poetry

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

