A bottle with no cap

It hits me in waves like surf on the beach
Continually hitting and tossing me around
Covering me completely as the tide comes in
The current taking hold and drags me out
At times like this I’m a bottle with no cap
No choice but to succumb to the journey

If the bottle fills then I am lost, drowning
I slowly sink barely attempting to fight
I would refuse the hand of salvation
As I know I have declined in the past
I would shut the world out, locking the door
Despairing in solitude, giving up the fight.

If the bottle half fills, the tide carries me
I could float for days with no sight of land
Hope barely a flicker but the light is on
To get washed up on some new shore
Like so much flotsam on a deserted beach
Ragged and exhausted, to tired to fight

Whichever way the tides have taken me
The journey is one of despair, self loathing
Mind shutting down to feed on itself
Ignoring all help, denying to even try
The world outside is an alien landscape
Taking months to acclimatise once again

©2010Trevor Litchfield
Creative Commons Licence
”A bottle with no cap” by Trevor Litchfield is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at http://en.gravatar.com/sundowneruk.

 

One Shot Wednesday

One Shot Wednesday

Join the One Stop Poetry team for another week of fantastic poetry. You are welcome to share a poem by linking in or read the fantastic writing shared each week.

14 Comments

  1. moondustwriter

     /  December 14, 2010

    Lots of feeling packed in this piece. I feel the angst of apathy and the glimmer of hope in the buoyancy of the bottle
    well written

    Want to thank you for coming by One Shot – we welcome you to visit and read as much or as little poetry as you want. There are always excellent submissions
    We also are considering submissions on Wednesdays that will be considered for a publication coming in the spring

    Thanks again for your visit
    Moondustwriter

    • Thanks for dropping by, reading and taking the time to comment Moondustwriter.
      I always try to write with feeling or emotion, it’s the only way I know

  2. Solid work.

  3. i always prefer that thought of half-filled rather than half-emptied

    • Thanks deLiderata, sadly the choice isn’t one I can often make but I understand what you mean

  4. Now we know what to get you for Christmas: A cap!
    Nice One Shot, Trevor!

  5. i can feel the pain and wearyness in your words…excellent expressed emotions

  6. So much emotion expressed so eloquently Trevor, it would be all too easy to let it all just explode onto the page, but you’ve managed to curb it beautifully in this offering for oneshot 🙂

  7. So full of emotion–you expressed this state so well.

  8. My thanks to everyone that took the time to read and comment.

  9. I understand those emotions. Swim parallel to the beach… lol

  10. Can relate to your lines, painfully so, and think you use all the imagery associated with the bottle brilliantly throughout. “The journey is one of despair, self loathing / Mind shutting down to feed on itself…” Excellent poetry. cheers

  1. Melancholic Mood | Trev's Telautograph
'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose and poetry

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

