Decorating and yet more day to day stuff

Photo by Scott Bauer.

Image via Wikipedia

As you can see, I’ve put the decorations up to try and jolly the place up a bit. Personally I’m still not in the holiday mood, there is so much going on in my life at the moment.

Jobsearching never stops as does the gently applied pressure from many quarters to find a job.

House hunting goes on apace. After the great news about the council upgrading my application it is now more a case of where would we like to live rather than keeping fingers crossed that other families aren’t interested in a property. All things being equal, my daughter and I should get the chance to view a couple of flats next week with the real possibility of being offered one.

So now I’m looking around my current flat thinking about how I’m going to move all our stuff into a new flat, how many boxes will I need? There are other things to consider, things like a washing machine and dryer, where I live there is a launderette within the complex which is open 24/7 and free to use for residents. Carpets or other flooring as most socially provided housing comes without carpets, curtains and curtain rails. All this expense plus we need to eat!

Still it will be great for us both to have our own bedrooms at last, sleeping on a couch for nearly four months isn’t doing my aged back any good. It will also be great to think that we can call where ever we end up ‘home’. These past twelve months has been one of continual change and readjustment. I’ve never lived in or even near a city before so there are many things to come to terms with that alone, let alone getting used to fending for myself again, then when my daughter came to live with me, fending for her as well.

I also have a daily struggle with depression, I’ve been off medication for four or five years and I think I cope with it pretty well but I have days where I just want to sit and ball my eyes out for no other reason than I feel crap! The depression just seems to hit me in waves which I have no control over and I end up gradually sinking to some pretty dark places for no reason at all. I have come to recognise ‘triggers’ and most times I can prevent myself disappearing completely. If I can keep myself up, happy, then I tend to not get deep depressions which is something.

Enough! I feel on an even keel so I’m not going to rock the boat any further.

I hope you like how I decorated the place, anyone else going to ‘decorate’ for the holidays?

4 Comments

  1. everything looks so festive!
    i feel like i’ve been transported to a winter wonderland!

    soooooo…cookies?

  2. My neighbour bakes gorgeous cookies, shame she’s away 😦

NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose and poetry

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

