Tea…

A nice cup of tea (and a sit down). A Denby te...

Image via Wikipedia

I drink quite a bit of tea, not so much coffee these days, high blood pressure and all that, so tea is the drink for me after midday most days. It’s odd how you get used to a certain brand and the flavour it gives to your drink of choice. I’ve been buying the same tea for months, in fact nearly a year. To me it is a good strong (important to me) flavoured, easily drinkable beverage. Last week when I went shopping, the shop I use had sold out of my usual brand. I did ask one of the shop staff, he did go and check out back in the warehouse but I was out of luck!

So, there I am, standing in front of the shelves, staring at all these different brands of tea, all promising me the best mug of tea I could drink. I start by picking up each brand on offer one at a time, reading the blurb, seeing if there was something that tempted me to try a certain brand. In the end I decided on a brand that donates a percentage of the profits from each box sold to rainforest preservation.

I’m quite keen, no, I’m VERY keen on rainforest preservation so without further thought this was the brand that went into my shopping trolley. I happily handed over the Β£2 for my box of tea (I spent a lot more on other required products but the box of tea cost Β£2) and went home looking forward to trying this new brand and blend of tea.

I put my other shopping away along with my newly purchased box of tea, I had some tea left in my caddy so I would not be using this new brand for a few days.

Skip a few days πŸ˜‰

Ooh, time to test out this new brand of tea as I use the last of the tea in the caddy. So I guzzle down what I’ve just made, open the new box and fill up my caddy. Straight away I’m at the tap, filling up the kettle to boil then on to make a lovely fresh pot of tea. I’m doing all the necessary and thinking that I might sit and savour this new brand, one that I feel I should buy on a regular basis simply because of what they do with some of their profits.

Tea is now steeping in the pot, cosy over the teapot, I always make enough for two mugs in my teapot, the cosy keeps the second mug of tea warm whilst I savour the first. I pour the tea out, it has a lovely colour, smells great!, Add a dash of milk, no sugar (I’m sweet enough….yeah right! πŸ˜‰ ) and off I go into the lounge to try out what may well become my new brand of tea.

Now at this point you know where this is going to go, well you’re pretty much right. It isn’t awful, it just has a tang that isn’t quite to my taste, it tastes sort of papery somehow. Oh itΒ  has a nice and strong flavour but it leaves this odd papery after taste in my mouth. So as much as I’d love to make this new found brand my regular brand, I don’t think it will be. I’ve been drinking it for a week now and I still get this papery after taste. Oh well, I just hope that when I go shopping next week, they have my regular brand in stock, otherwise I may be boring you all over again with my purchases πŸ™‚

Previous Post

10 Comments

  1. There’s nothing worse than tea that doesn’t taste right. Actually, there is… lukewarm tea. Hope you get your proper cuppa soon!

    • I have to drink what I’ve got until it’s all gone so a decent cuppa is still a week away 😦
      Still, I got something to look forward to πŸ™‚

  2. i have to agree with aquatom1968 on this – nothing worse that bad tea. very disappointing. hopefully you can get back to your normal tea ritual soon.

  3. did you know – it is snowing on your blog!!
    hope you have a shovel!

  4. ahhh!! all that preparation, anticipation, and the final result is so disappointing. Back to the old brand … and never stray again… until the next time, forgetting what happened this time, and who knows, maybe there’s a ‘perfick cuppa ‘ out there somewhere waiting for discovery, with the added bonus of Fairtrade!! πŸ˜‰ … I buy Tesco’s Fairtrade, and up-to now tastes OK, Coffee is my main tipple… as hot as bearable…and just like aquatom1968. I hate lukewarm .. Yuk!! xPenx

    • I love coffee and that is all I used to drink but when the Doc told me how it affects my BP and my BP was excessively high at the time, I heeded his words. I still need daily medication to keep my BP in check but cutting the coffee out has also helped me feel more relaxed, I drink buckets of tea instead (and spend a lot more time passing it, or so it seems πŸ˜€ ).
      I still start the day with a mighty caffeine hit though, I couldn’t face the day without it πŸ˜‰

  5. Raven

     /  December 17, 2010

    I enjoy my coffee first thing, but I am like tea in the afternoon. Oh and that moment of anticipation is always sweet. I have my brands although I do try new ones on occasion, but I am a creature of habit as I usually end up staying with my brand. I like to think I like change, a spur of the moment kind of lady…LOL

  6. Thanks for reading and commenting Raven. The anticipation of that first mug of tea around lunchtime is, I have to admit become a sweet moment for me as well. I think it’s because I time it with my lunch which means I’m taking time out from my hectic days of job hunting or housework πŸ˜€
    It also signals the start of my afternoons which involves reading and writing, much more my thing πŸ˜‰

NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose and poetry

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

