Music, Reading and TV (MASH with pizza)

Goodbye, Farewell and Amen

Image via Wikipedia

Woke up to the sad news that Don Van Vliet (Captain Beefheart) had died overnight. I’m not an avid listener of his music but his contribution cannot be overestimated. His music can at times be hard to get into but I found I enjoy it without understanding the ‘why’. I love the album Clearspot but played Trout Mask Replica this morning as that was my introduction to the man’s music.

The rest of my day has been taken up mainly by listening to music that I have on my PC. I did read for a couple of hours this afternoon, I’m reading Helliconia by Brian Aldiss. I’ve been here before with this book, I get so far into it, put it down and for some odd reason don’t pick it up as often as perhaps I should. I’ve been crawling through the book since September! It’s a fantastic vision he has and I really get into it when I read it, I just don’t read it often enough. Hopefully I’ll finish it over the holidays because I’ve got a five book anthology of Philip K Dick waiting for me.

I also got to watch some MASH. I’ll watch this all day if I get into it so I try and ration myself a bit. I’m now going to have to start from season 1 (again) as I watched Goodbye, Farewell and Amen this evening. If you’re not into MASH,  Goodbye, Farewell and Amen is the final episode, a two and a half hour special which held the record for highest viewing figures for a TV programme until quite recently, I think a Superbowl now holds the record.

I’m still trying to understand why I enjoy MASH so much. I rarely watch TV, even when I was younger yet this programme caught my imagination for some reason. If I watch TV at all it’s normally one of the Star Trek reruns or perhaps a Sci-Fi film though I do love the Simpsons. I always try and have my evening meal ready for 6pm so that I can tune into the Simpsons on Ch4 while I eat, then wash up in time for Star Trek Voyager at 7pm on what used to be Virgin One, now rebranded Channel One. After that I happily turn the TV off in favour of music, reading or writing.

Weekend evenings are tricky, there is nothing on that I want to watch normally, that’s when I hit my scanty DVD collection and relax in front of an old favourite (or MASH 😉 ).

So, a bit of a ramble through my TV watching habits today!

2 Comments

  1. I always find it fascinating what people watch on TV. I’m not much a TV watcher myself – books and radio somehow just work better for my brain. Hope you enjoy MASH – one of the of best shows ever.

  2. I’m not much of a TV person either, music I love and play all the time. I enjoy talk radio but really don’t like music radio that much, I hate all the twittering on that the DJ’s do talking about nothing as if it’s really important (or they think they are).

NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose, poetry, and music.

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

