Standing on a hill in the mountain of dreams

For the first line I must give thanks to Messrs Plant, Page, Jones and Bonham. I just hope the rest of the poem lives up to it’s illustrious beginning.

Standing on a hill in the mountain of dreams
Taking in the view comparing the possibilities
Pondering which path to walk and where it ends
The inviting climb upwards away to a new life

This hill stands small among the mountains
The path that led me here so easy to retrace
But for me new dreams fill me with desires
To leave this old life behind for others to follow

As I leave the hill behind and start the climb
I feel the heady warmth of sunlight on my back
A break in the clouds brings relief to my soul
Natures smile feeds me for the long walk ahead

Where my chosen path leads to nobody knows
Follow it I must else dreams will fade to dust
Let my dreams be my guide over rocky paths
To reach a new summit and find my reverie

©2011Trevor Litchfield
Creative Commons Licence
“Standing on a hill in the mountain of dreams” by Trevor Litchfield is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at http://en.gravatar.com/sundowneruk.

Previous Post

2 Comments

  1. Lovely.
    Oh, I love the climbing and mountain imagery.

    Coincidence – I’m just about to finish “Three Cups of Tea”- true story of a man who fails to climb K2 and ends up building schools in Pakistan. Variations on a theme.

    Oh!
    Happy New Year!

  2. Thanks Bex.
    The imagery was brought on by the words of the song, though the song has a very different context to the thoughts I had, the line “Standing on a hill in the mountain of dreams” is towards the end of the song yet it always conjurers up the imagery I wrote about. If you happen to have Led Zeppelin IV around take a listen to “Going To California”, it’s a beautiful song.

NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose, poetry, and music.

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

