Retail Therapy

B and Q

Image by Joseph Tame via Flickr

Anyone that suffers from depression will know exactly how it comes upon you. For instance I was happily blog surfing last evening, enjoying everyone’s latest entries (or at least those I subscribe to) when it (depression) descended on me without warning or reason. I’d had a reasonable day, no moans or anything. I’d enjoyed a couple of trashy Sc-Fi films on TV (Iron Man and Catwoman) and all in all I was feeling pretty good, then wham! I couldn’t even find a reason to read further or write anything. In fact I even tweeted the question as to why I was bothering with anything, that includes living! On that happy note I went to bed and slept very soundly.

I awoke this morning feeling pretty crap but at least I had lost that overpowering desire to question my existence, all I had to do now was survive the day and maybe, just maybe my thought processes might improve. I decided the best thing for me to do was get out of the flat and go into the city. I showered and hit town.

I decided that a good place to start would be the DIY warehouse that my new landlord (Norwich City Council) had kindly given me some vouchers for to decorate my new home. Without even thinking what decorating really means I hit the curtains and curtain rails aisle and picked up £50 worth of curtains. On arriving at the till I was politely informed that City Council don’t consider the items I had chosen as decorating items. I guess in truth I should have read the list they gave me along with the vouchers but who reads lists?

Empty handed I walk out of the DIY warehouse and considered what I could do next. On the bus out to the DIY warehouse I had noticed that one of my favourite charity furniture shops was open, so I decided to go and browse in there. I need to get a bed for my daughter and I had spotted one in there the other week so I thought that maybe that bed was still in the shop or perhaps they might have something similar.

I arrived at the charity furniture shop after another bus journey and found that although they had sold the bed I had been looking at, they had got four other single beds more than suitable for my daughter all at exceptionally reasonable prices. I already have a mattress for her bed so I only needed the bed frame itself and picked up a lovely wooden bed frame for £25. As I hadn’t spent as much as I thought I would I decided to look around the rest of their bedroom furniture and ended up buying a lovely wardrobe for my daughters bedroom as well. This also cost £25, so with a £5 delivery charge I’ve pretty much furnished my daughters bedroom for £50! I also saw some gorgeous dressing tables with mirrors but my daughter will have to wait a bit longer for one of those.

Feeling a lot happier with myself (retail therapy works 🙂 ) I thought it best to head homewards. Whilst waiting for my bus to arrive I witnessed one of the funniest accidents I’ve ever seen! Two buses were in a bay close to me and people were getting on both when all of a sudden the rear bus jumped forward and hit the forward bus. The rear bus had barely moved two feet yet it was wrecked with all front windows smashed and quite a bit of metalwork hanging loose. The forward bus also had a lovely imprint of the bus that hit it in it’s rear, though from what I could see nothing was smashed or hanging off. Happily no one was injured but the damage to the two buses was considerable when you consider the distance the rear bus had travelled!

So here I sit typing these few words for you to read after cooking myself one of my favourite comfort meals, baked potatoes with baked beans with grated cheese over the top, drinking a mug of tea and feeling a bit better. I still have that lingering depressed feeling but nothing like I had last night. I’ve found through living with depression that one of the best ways for me to tackle it is to simply get out of the flat and although perhaps not interact with people, do some people watching or simply be around people.

6 Comments

  1. Trevor, you and your public transport complaints…!
    I don’t think I have ever suffered from depression, but it doesn’t sound very good… I’m sorry but I don’t even know what to say regarding it – apart from good for you for handling it the way you do!
    And well done with your furniture!

    • Aquatom, when you travel almost daily by public transport you have to moan otherwise they would think you were a bit odd 😉 In defence of my local public transport service, on the whole it’s pretty good and most drivers are friendly, it’s mostly my travelling companions that cause me grief 😀

      I wouldn’t know where to start trying to describe depression apart from you trying to imagine your worst day ever, then not knowing how long the feeling will take to go away or why it arrived in the first place. It’s something that runs in my family and we’ve all got used to it over the years and manage to live our lives despite it. I know it affects others a lot worse than me so I have something to be grateful for.

  2. jennyozzy

     /  January 3, 2011

    hi trevor dont worry i think every single person gets depressed at some stage in their lives its human nature its how you handle it i think you did great have a good tuesday jen xx

    • Thanks for reading and commenting Jen.
      You’re right about how people handle it, luckily most of the time my depressions are quite shallow or I can recover quite quickly from the worst of it. It just that lingering feeling that I don’t like much and I find hardest to deal with, when I feel like that just about anything could send me over the edge and that feeling often lasts weeks at a time.
      Talking also helps, so in a way does writing about it, then discussing it with readers that have commented, so thank you for commenting 🙂

  3. great introspective post. really happy to know that you were able to furnish your daughter’s room and excellent bargain hunting!
    have to laugh about public transportation woes – i think driving places has wrecked my sense of humour.

    happy to know that you are able to face your depression head on and still get out into the world and keep living. what is that saying? “keep passing open windows.”

    i laugh about you saying how retail therapy works – shopping is a complete nightmare for me.

  4. Been there myself Trevor, in fact still visit that dark place, it seems to be a see-saw, and sometimes I’m able to go for days without anything dragging me down, but then doesn’t seem to take much, and a trigger seems to be switched…I wish I knew exactly where it was so’s I could disconnect it!!
    Like Bex, I don’t go shopping for fun, seems to drag me down, I have no idea why, maybe my personal attitude. Hope the worlds a brighter place today…It’s white here, the snows back!! Ugh!! Penx

NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose and poetry

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

