Ooh, pages do load faster!

Image representing Virgin Media as depicted in...

Image via CrunchBase

Well, that didn’t turn out as I had hoped and expected!

The nice man from Virgin Media turned up nice and early and we had live internet by 08:30am, wonderful! By 09:30am my PC had crashed and was stubbornly not going to go beyond Safe Mode so I ended up having to do a complete re-install of Windows and all the other software I like to have on my PC, still I’m there now and everything seems stable. I never found out why my PC crashed or what piece of software decided it had had enough, this always annoys me but hey ho, at least I got to read 50 odd pages of my book whilst everything re-installed.

Oh the joys of a fast connection, I downloaded and watched the first episode of Outcasts, I missed it when it was on TV last week and I’ve been waiting all week to watch it, now I’ll have to remember to download the rest of the episodes. It’s not the sort of programme my daughter is interested in so watching it on iPlayer is the ideal way for me to watch it.

Then there is the way pages open almost instantly. I’m not saying I was unhappy with my 3G connection because I wasn’t but it was like going back to the days when the only way to get online was through a dial-up modem and waiting ages for pages to load.

Oh and download speeds! That hour long episode of Outcasts took less than 5 minutes and there I was, head candy on watching it, great stuff 🙂 To say I’m happy with it is an understatement.

I applied for yet another job today. It all feels a bit pointless as I don’t even expect a reply in acknowledgement of my application let alone an invitation to an interview anymore. I also have been accepted for a work trial at a certain supermarket beginning with T (you know the one). It involves me working 40 hours a week for 4 weeks to gain some ‘working experience’. Trick is I’m not paid for this other than a ‘working allowance’ equal to my Jobseekers Allowance. There is no guarantee of a job offer at the end of the 4 week trial but as I’ve been unemployed over a year I’m in no position to refuse to do it.

To be perfectly honest, I’m not sure how I feel about it all. In one way I’m looking forward to it. It will mean getting out, meeting new people and doing new things plus it will offer a structure to my days and weeks for a while. On the other hand I’m basically ‘volunteering’ to work for one of the most profitable companies in the UK for 4 weeks!

I know it might look good on my CV that I applied for the work trial but if I hadn’t applied for it the Jobcentre in their wisdom would have placed me in whatever position they had available on the day I turned up, plus I’d have also been at the mercy of whoever was dishing said work trials. If the person took a dislike to me who knows what I could have been doing for 4 weeks?

Still, I’ll try and stay positive about it and see where it takes me.

3 Comments

  1. Trevor, good news on your speedy internet connection, but bad news on your PC stopping. Good news once more on it working again! Good news too on your work trial – it may lead to something more permanent, you never know. What do they say ‘Every little helps’… ! And good luck with your other application(s)!

  2. so much news Trevor! the new speed sounds fabu!
    my fingers are crossed for you that the work trial goes well and lead to something permanent – you never know what can happen. as always, holding good thoughts for you on the job front…

  3. such an up and down day, Trevor, but the Speed has to count for so much UP that it blots out the rest of life’s rich trials…..
    MY poor old PC is past her best, and she tries …but I do envy you the speeding downloads, I have to twiddle my thumbs for a while and recite mantra’s to keep my cool…
    bye for now and happy surfing…xPenx

NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose and poetry

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

