(Another) Good Day

The Silmarillion

Image via Wikipedia

Tonight I’m relaxing quietly after a good long soak in the bath and my mind is completely blank. Perhaps that the effect of the hot steaming water I was soaking in or just it’s a reflection of the good day I’ve had, therefore it shows my contentment with life today.

I met another new volunteer at the shop along with three regulars. We got on like a house on fire (me and the new volunteer), seems we have much in common and as it was just us two working the shop (the other two were doing stock work upstairs) it gave us plenty of chance to get to know one another. I was doing shelf replenishment along with a bit of resorting into alphabetical order and she was keeping her eye on the till and generally trying to help customers as and when they came in.

I can’t believe how quickly shelves get disorganised and why do people not put things back where they find them? Non fiction in Sc-Fi, literature in History and so-on, still it kept me busy throughout the day.

I ended up buying yet another book, it was The Silmarillion by JRR Tolkien, published after his death it tells the story of the Elder Days, or First Earth, ie it is set before The Hobbit and Lord Of The Rings. I’m looking forward to reading it!

I reluctantly took my library books back unread today. With everything going on in my life this last week or two I’ve had little time to spend any quality time reading, so I just cannot read to any time limits which the library obviously set. I’m planning to finish The Song Of Tears Trilogy by reading The Destiny of the Dead, then maybe I’ll go back to the Dune series and finish that. Choices, choices! Time, time!

So, I’m pleased to report that today has been another excellent day for me and I look forward to another one tomorrow. I sincerely wish you a great day too.

Previous Post

2 Comments

  1. lovely to read and know you had a great day.
    isn’t it wonderful to meet people and burn some houses down? wait, i don’t think that came out the right way…

    • LOL, I know exactly what you mean Bex, I think they were personal barriers rather than walls (on both sides) but it felt really good just the same

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose and poetry

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

