Today my tears are for you

Walking through the estate late in the evening,
The sound of an Ice Cream vans tune
comes echoing over the houses
Shattering the silence.
The Teddy Bears Picnic: Surreal.
The tune reawakens memories of a time lost,
My chest aches at the memories,
Of the fields of tall grass,
As we innocently rolled together,
Flattening long paths,
We held each other close.

Standing in my room, lights out, curtains open.
Street lighting casts long shadows.
The screeching of tyres can be heard in the distance
The estate holds it’s breath
Waiting for the inevitable, metal on metal.
Memories of blood wash through my mind.
We lost you that day,
Yet others walked: Unscathed!
My mind still reels at the loss.
A life lost forever.
Today my tears are for you.

©2011 Trevor Litchfield
Creative Commons Licence
‘Today my tears are for you’ by Trevor Litchfield is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at http://en.gravatar.com/sundowneruk.

Previous Post

7 Comments

  1. Very poignant, Trevor.

  2. Thanks Aquatom, It isn’t about anyone in particular so I’m not sitting here deep in melancholic thoughts. It’s more about letting go of the past (if that makes any sense)

  3. oh Trevor. lovely, sad and beautiful. really like the theme you note to aquatom1968 about letting go of the past. it can become a burden if we let it, can’t it.

    lovely.

    • Thanks Bex, it is a sad poem but not really an unhappy one no matter how it it appears on first reading it. A lot of my poetry is like that, it has a double meaning or it is a metaphor with a more personal message or thought behind it.

      I’m pleased you enjoyed reading it.

  4. good to read that it wasn’t a tragic memory Trevor, and a metaphoric poem about letting go…
    Wonderful poem though sadness reigns at the end, … and you know, I’m so glad that we can ‘answer’ comments on our own blogs, it gives others a clue as to the nature of the poetry/storyline and you can feel at ease giving your viewpoint without putting your foot in your mouth kinda thing!! 😉 xPenx

    • I think it’s always sad when you say your final goodbye’s, whether they are to a person or a memory, or in my case last night, some things from my past. The sights and sounds are those I heard and saw last night (though there was no accident that I could hear) whilst was writing, the emotions came from within.

      I agree Pen, it is good that we can answer comments though I often still put my foot in my mouth 😉

  1. When a Parent Leaves | Danroberson's Blog
NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose and poetry

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

