Life by Committee

Everyone has smiles on faces,
All say they are trying to do their best.
A future is decided by committee,
It’s the best choice for one and all.

Did they listen to the one it concerns?
The one sat quietly in the corner.
Observing without taking part,
All voices louder than hers.

Agreements are made, hands are shook.
More smiley faces as names are signed.
Papers pass from folder to folder,
All designed to make life easy.

Who has to live this decision?
Not those signatures, that’s for sure.
She sits quietly, on her own,
They are adults, they know best.

Now the room is quiet again,
She stares at artwork on the wall.
Lost in a time and place of her own,
Accepting her fate, resigned.

©2011 Trevor Litchfield
Creative Commons Licence
‘Life by Committee’ by Trevor Litchfield is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at http://en.gravatar.com/sundowneruk.

4 Comments

  1. The child. Overlooked, not asked or consulted, just her fate decided upon by they who think they know best…and only time will tell, her time !! Well written Trevor, xPenx

    • WOW, that was quick Pen, I’d only just published that 🙂

      Yes, sadly I witnessed something like this today and just had to get it out of my system.

  2. yikes. really grim, Trevor. sadly, really true as well.

    good that is out of your system.

    pensive way to start the day, thank you.

    • My apologies if I got you off to a pensive start Bex, that certainly wasn’t my intention. What I witnessed bore no relation to what I wrote (I was the silent one in real life) but my mind took me in this direction once I sat down to write.

NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose and poetry

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

