World Book Night

About World Book Night.

Saturday, or more accurately, Saturday evening is World Book Night. Something along the lines of World Book Day but for adults instead of children. I only found out about World Book Night via twitter but it seems quite an interesting attempt to get people that otherwise would not read, to read books.

One of the ideas is to give books away to people during the course of the day, this will happen this coming Saturday. Here in Norwich, three of the places you can get one of these books are pubs, again an interesting concept but one that I personally welcome. Not that I get the chance to go out drinking but to know there are pubs out there that would welcome book readers whilst they enjoy a pint. I’ve never come across this before but then I’ve never lived in a city before either, perhaps pubs offering quiet corners to book readers are more common in cities.

To discover more about World Book Night, click the About World Book Night  link above.

As most of you know, I volunteer a lot of my free time at the Oxfam Bookshop here in Norwich. Today we had a volunteer meeting, most of it about general day to day stuff but it appears that they are looking for new and different ways to publicise the shop for both books they have to offer as well as an easy way for prospective volunteers to get in touch and know something about us before they come along and pay us a visit in the shop. Anyway, it appears along with a few other volunteers, yours truly may be one of those tasked in getting some sort of blog off the ground.

I think anyone that visits this blog regularly will know I enjoy the process of writing and blogging, I showed off my blog to the shop manager the other day. She was very impressed with my efforts which pleased me no end. So the chance to write something on a second blog about the fun I have at the bookshop or about book collections we might have for sale, or what my day might involve, or indeed favourite books I purchased from the shop is an exciting one for me. More news on this as I get it plus, you know I’m going to let you all know where you can find this blog when we get it off the ground.

I have to admit, since I’ve been back at the shop, which is only just over a week now, my job searching isn’t such an onerous task as it was when I was home all day every day. I know I can’t look at this as paid work but it does feel as if I have a job. I’m spending about 30 hours a week there and as I’ve already said before, the people are great and I feel as if I’m doing something worthwhile and to some extent, my days are fulfilled. I get home with that happy tiredness you have at a job well done, getting used to spending 6 or 7 hours a day stood up is hard after spending most of my life sat on my arse behind the steering wheel of a truck all day.

For the first time in many months, I am content with life. I don’t know if it’s because the anti depressants have started to work, or because I’m out of the flat doing something I want to do, or maybe it’s a mixture of the two. What ever it is I don’t mind it at all.

Next Post

9 Comments

  1. I’ve never heard of world book night either – I’ll have to check that link and see what I can find out, thanks for mentioning it, Trevor!

    Great news about your new blog project – hope it goes well!

    • Spreading the word, although a bit late, is the intention. I know you enjoy reading as do many of my other readers so I thought it worth a mention as soon as I heard about it.

  2. that’s a perfect, or almost perfect, job you have there Trevor, wages would help…but as you say half the battle with jobs is the satisfaction level…and yours seems very high. The blog sounds a great idea to spread the word. (Pun?) about books etc..at The Oxfam shop… Good luck and I’ll follow your link when you have it up and running… You sound really ‘up’ my friend, and I am so pleased for you.. xPenx

    • I am ‘up’ Pen, and I’m really excited about the blog even though it’s a team effort. Probably more so because it’s a team effort really. It’ll be fun collaborating with others as we plan to get it up and running whilst we are away from the shop, it will bring some much needed company during the evenings and maybe get me out once in a while too.

  3. oh! wow! world book night – what an awesome event! never heard of it before either, so thank you for the info. i have a few books that i’ve been neglecting, so this is a perfect excuse to set aside some time.

    the new blog project sounds fantastic – i’m so happy for you Trevor! this is another wonderful way of being able to contribute. (and yes, another very cool thing to add to the ole’ resume as well.)

    so very happy that you are up these days – sounds to me like there is so much to be feeling great about including the antidepressants helping with the brain chemistry.

    my fingers are crossed that you are “in the flow” and things will get better and better from here – good times are here again…

    • I think World Book Night is something new, I’d never heard of it before either.

      I have a test blog up and running but it is set to private at the moment as we have to get the official nod from head office to say we can go ahead with it. I do know the shop manager likes it though 🙂 I love playing about with this sort of thing, so it feels good to be doing it for a reason.

      Up? After today I’m floating (I think you know why 😉 )

  4. Hi Trevor, new here.

    I wish every bar in the world would sponsor an occasional Book Night. It would certainly give patrons something to talk about besides the usual tiresome, bland pub-speak. You’d need light though, and of course they’d want you to keep buying drinks!

    Your volunteer job is an enriching and what looks to be a beneficial one. One that you come home from tired, but gratified. The proposed blog sounds exciting indeed, and who knows where it could lead! Good luck.

    Take care,
    Debra

    • Thanks for dropping by and having a read Debra.
      I think it would be good if a few bars did this but I doubt many actually do, still there is always the sofa and a cool beer from the fridge.

      The volunteer work is brilliant, it has helped me so much.

  1. Half Off Print and Online Educational Resources from World Book. Two Options Available. - Daily Couponds
'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose and poetry

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

