Ooops, I missed a day

Herbert, Frank - God Emperor of Dune (1982 TPB)

Image by sdobie via Flickr

I know, I missed a day. I got so stuck into my book last night and I just didn’t want to put it down. If any of you read Ian Irvine books, I think you’ll know where I’m coming from. He certainly knows how to keep the reader hooked! Now I have to decide whether I want to go back to the Dune Series and God Emperor of Dune or read something new, maybe short and in one volume. Recently I have started gathering together the great Lensman Series written by E E ‘Doc’ Smith. I have the first three resting in my bookcase awaiting the other three to complete the series. I’ve been picking these up on Amazon as and when I have a bit of spare cash.

I guess I should really continue reading the Dune Series. I first read Dune in my youth, then over the years I’ve collected the others in the series without ever reading them until recently!

I do enjoy reading a series of books but I also find that they get a bit overpowering at times, almost too much to read, that’s why I enjoy reading Asimov, Clarke and Dick. They have written many complete stories in around 250 pages. They are as detailed as they need to be, tell a great story and can be read without having to remember what happened three books ago, especially if you read that book a few years back!

So, I’m going to catch up on everyone then go ponder my next read.

6 Comments

  1. I’ve read loads of Science Fiction books, Trevor, Dune amongst them, and I remembered raving about it then. What I hated with a Series of books was waiting for the next one to be published, forgetting the previous book and having to re-read, (mind you, made for a longer read each time 😉 ) … Julian May, Anne McCaffrey, Terry Goodkind, and Tolkien of course, just to name a few… Happy reading… xPenx

    • I really should read other genres but I just love Sci-Fi. I’ve read Dune several times, watched the film countless times yet I still find something new whenever I reread it, for me it’s just one of those books. My copy is battered and dog eared beyond redemption but I doubt I’ll ever replace it for a cleaner copy.

      I’ve not read any of the authors you name, I must try harder 😉

  2. I don’t think that there is anything better than a book you can’t put down. I usually read before going to sleep at night, and this tends to cause a little bit of a problem, especially if I’m tired or up early the next day. I have to read ‘one more chapter’…

    • It’s a bad habit to get into Aquatom, and it’s one I do every night as well. I’ve often looked at the clock only to find I should have been asleep hours ago, then suffer all the following day because I just couldn’t wait to read the next chapter!

  3. Dave Weldon

     /  March 19, 2011

    At the ripe old age of 53 I’m reading Foundation for the first time and I’m “astounded” that Asimov wrote this stuff when he was 21 or thereabouts and all I did was sit on my hands at that point in my life. At some point I should read Frank Herbert too.

    • Thanks for stopping by and commenting Dave.
      I read the Foundation Trilogy years ago and have recently decided it is time to revisit it once again. It is a brilliant trilogy by a brilliant author. There are some real classics out there if you have the time to read them

NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose, poetry, and music.

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

