Bookbank Thursday

Detail from photographic portrait of Charles D...

Charles Dickens

To start with, I did quite a bit of work on the new shop blog today, both at the shop and once I got home this evening, hopefully by the weekend I can announce to the world where it can be found. We also had an exciting day in the shop as we had an internet sale of a first edition Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens for nearly £700! It had the whole shop and volunteer staff buzzing all day as we chatted about it to some of our regular customers as well as the changes in volunteer staff throughout the day.

Also (this happened in my absence over Christmas) Thursday has become cake day! We all chip in a pound and we all sit with a cake each for our 11 o’clock cup of coffee. I think this all came about as Thursdays is one of the busier days for us volunteers as we get the bookbank delivery. The bookbank is very much the same as a bottle bank but for books, people simply put unwanted books into the bin, they are collected and delivered to us every Thursday. Some days this can be in excess of thirty sacks of books which means a lot of work, sorting, grading and pricing then storing the books ready to put on sale.

I chose a book by Isaac Asimov to read in the end last night, it is called The Naked Sun. I felt I needed a break from the serial type books for a while so I’ll probably be updating my Bookshelf page quite often over the next couple of weeks as I rattle though some of my favourite Sci-Fi authors.

4 Comments

  1. First edition of Dickens and cake? Better than antidepressants!

  2. the book bank sounds a fantastic idea, Trevor, sharing old and new… I hate to see books thrown away… So many ‘worlds’ inside to visit through you imagining the creation of the Author… and I take a leaf out of your previous commenter – Dickens and cake… what could be better? (Dickens and chocolate methinks … tho.’ careful not to mark the pages!!) … 😀 xPenx

    • The bookbank brings in so many books, too many at times but we find them a good home which is the important thing. Yes, Dickens and cake! I had a blueberry muffin, I’m not sure they were around in Dickens time but I enjoyed it 😉

NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose and poetry

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

