Jonathan Livingston Seagull

Blank Airport - Jonathan Livingston Seagull

Image by oddsock via Flickr

We finally got everything ready to set the Oxfam blog live today. After some carefully worded page entries along with some playing about with fonts and images the site went live this morning πŸ˜€ If you are interested it can be found at Oxfam Books & Music, Norwich. Of course there are also permanent links to be found on my blogroll and my interweb page. There is more design work to be included but this can be completed as we need it.

As you might expect, this set my day up rather nicely. We worked on the blog until around 11am then I spent much of the rest of the day doing what I enjoy doing the most, which is sorting through stock, looking for new items to place on the shelves and in the display cabinets. It’s amazing what the good people of Norwich donate to the shop, as is highlighted in our very first blog post, some items are quite rare and valuable.

Everyday I discover a book I’d love to own whilst I’m doing this sort of work but today I actually did part with some cash and buy one of those books. I bought Jonathan Livingston Seagull by Richard Bach. It is a book I read years ago and never owned. I just borrowed it from the library when I read it but ever since I’ve always said to myself that if I ever saw a nice copy of the book I would buy it, today was that day πŸ˜‰ As I’m nearly finished with Isaac Asimov, I think I might fly with Jonathan on Sunday.

Previous Post

7 Comments

  1. I may have said this before, but good luck with the new blog, Trevor!

    • Thanks Aquatom, it’s a team effort, we just have to spread the word now

  2. great to catch up on your news Trevor, and sounds like you’ve had a fantastic time doing what you enjoy…I’ve just been catching up online, personal banking and filing bills/papers (sheesh!!! feels just like being at work!!) πŸ˜‰ Wishing you happy times re-reading JLS, sounds a great read… xPenx

    • I hate all that paperwork stuff that’s required by life from time to time but it has to be done now and again. I enjoyed JLS when I last read it but that was a long time ago, my memories may not be up to the reality of it now, at least it’s not a long book πŸ˜‰

  3. I hope Jonathon has stood the test of time. I remember laughing my way through the movie when I was a student in France; it was one of those ‘so bad it’s funny’ films made worse by being dubbed into French.

    • So do I rowenadunn, I never saw the film so I can’t comment on that but I remember snatches from the book, I’d like to think it has stood the test of time, I’ll know soon enough I guess

  4. excellent book and nice looking blog Trevor! congrats!

NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose and poetry

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

