Stressful yet musical

2009 09 15 187 T881 KLF in Norwich

Image by IoW_Sparky via Flickr

Not the day I had hoped for in truth. It appears that my time with my current work advisor is finished. The group he works for is contracted to look after unemployed people at stage 4 (what ever that is) and I’m now to go onto what ever is next. This means that my work placement is also finished but I have decided that I will continue as a volunteer at the shop, this is what I did before so in many ways very little has changed apart from the support of the government funded scheme that covered my travel expenses. I’ll worry about those expenses another day because once the weather gets a little better I can cycle into the city most days.

So, I’m now back under the jobcentre directly for my work support! To be honest I’m dreading this as they are rarely understanding and everything is by the book, rigid. We all have to fit in little boxes so that they can tick us off. It’s not a nice way to be treated at all really but I guess they have so many people to process everyday they can’t afford to be otherwise. I also find it very stressful to attend the jobcentre, I don’t deal with loads of people milling about very well plus there is always an air of confrontation though you rarely see it.

Thinking about loads of people in small places, I had to come home on a bus that was packed to standing. We normally get double deck buses on the route I live on, tonight it was a single deck bus but with the same amount of people attempting to board it. As someone that doesn’t deal to well with these situations I was getting a bit sweaty. Normally I stick my head in what ever book I’m reading but this evening I had the company of a colleague from the shop. It transpires that she has the same problem with people crowded together, so we sat together talking to each other trying to ignore everything else around us. I have to admit I still had sweaty palms when I got off the bus and the walk to Trevor Towers was a joy as I breathed in the cool evening air with relief.

Then there was the empty flat when I got in. My daughter is with her mother for the rest of the week, they are going up to London for a few days visiting family and going to see Justin Bieber on Thursday evening. So that meant no big hug when I got in, no chatting about each others day and worst of all, eating alone. I’ll have to find things to do to occupy myself until she comes back at the weekend, maybe I’ll read even more or maybe I’ll see if I can reawaken my creativity; at least I can play my music without having to wear headphones or getting moaned at πŸ˜€

7 Comments

  1. there is always two sides to it, isn’t there.
    not a great day, but playing music without headphones is doubleplus.

  2. not a good day Trevor, but you got through it… and great that your colleague was there to help bus-wise. Shame about your daughter not being there, but take advantage of the chill out time and she’ll be back before you know it, asking you to ‘can it’… πŸ˜‰ xPenx

    • I had another bus ride like that this morning but I stuck my nose in my book instead. I must admit it was much easier with my colleague yesterday as the journey seemed to go quicker.

  3. I didn’t realise there were different stages of unemployed people, Trevor, but they must know what they are doing at the group thingy. Keep on keeping on and all that! I was never keen on crowded buses either…

    • I will admit, I didn’t realise there were so many stages and I seem to keep going up the stages. With another big local employer going under last week things don’t improve in Norwich.

      Buses, the bain of my life sometimes but I’d be stranded without them

NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose, poetry, and music.

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

