Blip

War Memorial to Danish Seamen during WWII @ Sizewell Beach, Suffolk

I may not be beautiful, or the sexiest, nor do I have a perfect body. I may not be someone’s first choice, but I should be. I don’t pretend to be someone I’m not, because I’m good at being me. I’m proud of who I am today, and who I will become in the future. Take me as I am or watch me as I go, the choice is yours – I’ll be just fine either way, will you? Post this if you’re proud of being you!

My sister is fond of updating her Facebook status with such sayings. I’ve no idea where she gets them from but I have to admit I rather like this one that she used today. It says a lot about how we see ourselves and in some way lets people know how we would like to be treated and thought of by others.

I did get to my doctors today and he seems to think it was a one off blip in my medication! It felt otherwise to me but he is the professional in these matters; I will be back to see him again in two weeks unless I get another day like last Thursday.

I really wish I had more to say, my mind seems all fogged up again.

Before everything changed for me I used to take regular trips to our local coastline. On these trips I would always take my camera and photograph whatever I saw. One of our favourite beaches oddly enough was Sizewell beach in Suffolk; not because we got a nice warm paddle no matter what time of year we visited but because it is one of very few beaches that is dog friendly throughout the year. One of the things that would catch my eye every visit would be this set of oars cast in bronze to commemorate the thirty two brave Dutchmen who attempted to land on this piece of shoreline.

 

Writing on one of the oars, Click on image to see a larger image

6 Comments

  1. What a fantastic memorial Trevor, I clicked and read and felt very sad… 32 lives lost…
    Good to read that you saw the Doc, and that he’s aware of the possible problem with your meds.. at least it’s on your records now for future reference. And i think we should all be proud to be ‘us’ … we are unique… and as my mum used to say… She was glad there was only one of me…which I took to mean I was special to her … 😉 (joking, only joking….at least ….?) xPenx

  2. I like that status message, Trevor. Sometimes, I find them, well, annoying, but that one is a good one! We should give ourselves more credit!

  3. Pen, I’m sure you were special to your mum 😉
    That memorial always made me stop and think about life and how fragile it all is. I mean attempting to escape your enemies by trying to cross the North Sea by kayak! Only a Viking would try that. It is a lovely memorial though.

  4. We certainly should give ourselves more credit Aquatom and like you, most of the time status updates can be really annoying and meaningless

  5. haha – love this status update! way better than some of the ones i’ve seen which read like emotional masturbation in public. sorry, i am allowed to say “emotional masturbation” on this thing?

    very happy to know that you saw the doc and have a follow-up scheduled. sure, he is a professional in these matters, but you are an expert about you, so perhaps between the two of you, you can keep an eye on things and make sure the meds are working as they should.

    great pic of the oar memorial.

    • My sister regularly posts updates like the one I mentioned, I’ve no idea where she gets them from, she may even write them herself. LOL, you can write “emotional masturbation” on my blog anytime, I know what you mean even if others don’t 😉

      I’m feeling much better now but I will obviously be keeping a careful eye on things and will be reporting back to my doctor anything I consider unusual.

NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose, poetry, and music.

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

