The Good & The Naughty

 

March 27 2011, Census Day

March 27 2011, Census Day

Two post today as I couldn’t get anything posted last night. I gather WP were having a few problems.

I’ve been a good boy today and I filled in my census 2011 form on line. I wasn’t looking forward to it but you actually give more info away signing up to an email provider than you do on the census form. I was expecting to fill a ‘life story’ but thankfully it was a matter of confirming my address, then a multiple choice form. Census day is Sunday and I gather everyone is supposed to complete it as if it were the 27th, which is no problem for me as I will have no visitors and I’ll not be elsewhere.

It’s also the start of good ole BST on Sunday so we lose an hours sleep ๐Ÿ˜ฆ At least the evenings will be even better. The evenings have already started to get lighter and with weather like we had here in Norwich today, it can only be a good thing.

I also bought yet another book today! This is one that is a companion to my complete DVD collection of the Carry On films. The book is ‘What a Carry on: The Official Story of the Carry on Film Series’. I know they are all pretty dated and towards the end they became rather smutty instead of funny but I love them, especially the early ones. I can regularly be found watching one of them when I have a couple of hours that needs filling over a weekend. You just have to laugh sometimes, otherwise we would all be in a bad way.

 

Carry On Cleo

Carry On Cleo, one of my favourite Carry On films

 

Previous Post

6 Comments

  1. So it’s this weekend when the clocks change… I knew it must be due but wasn’t sure when. Thanks for the reminder, Trevor!

    I have seen lots of Carry On films, but they all seem to have merged into one ‘big memory’ in my mind (probably due to that ‘Carry On Laughing’ compilation series form several years ago) so I don’t really remember them that clearly. Screaming and Spying seem to stand out.

    And yes, the census wasn’t too bad. I answered mine as truthfully as I could back when I did it, but I think my plans may have changed since then. I’ll keep quiet about them, I think…

    • Everyone remembers the Barbara Windsor films yet the best ones are probably those without her in them, which thankfully is the large majority. We were discussing favourites in the bookshop after I purchased the book and ‘Screaming’ and ‘Spying’ seem to be the most popular there as well. Of course ‘Khyber’ got a vote or two as did my favourite but in truth I enjoy them all apart from ‘Emmanuelle’ and we won’t even discuss ‘Columbus’ as we don’t count that one anyway.

  2. I’m all ready to compete my census form, Trevor, on the dot on the 27th, I know you can complete it earlier online, but somehow I love filling in forms personally sometimes. Makes it more um..personal? ๐Ÿ™‚ … I can’t really say I enjoy the Carry On Films I’ve managed to catch sight of on TV, but one I did see (MY ex had a copy) was Carry ON Screaming, and that one made me laugh so much. and I agree, laugh more live longer, or maybe it just seems that way? ๐Ÿ˜€ xPenx

    • Pen, I hate form filling so to find I could do it on line was fantastic. I zipped through it about five minutes ๐Ÿ˜€
      At least you’ve seen one of the best Carry On’s but then out of the 29 made, I think I’d have to choose at least 10 as a favourite with non taking an outright top position

  3. oh census! Canada got rid of the long census forms and this was this horrid uproar when it happened. and online? never happen here. sometimes i think we are very, very behind in these things.

    never seen any of “Carry On”, perhaps i should make some time to explore…

    • I think it’s just my hate for form filling really as I wouldn’t normally bother with doing it on line, I simply spotted the option when I was reading through the first page of the form.

      Carry On’s are a peculiarly British phenomenon, the humour is also VERY British but if you do find one to watch I would be interested to know what you think of it.

NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose and poetry

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

โ— Poems 'n Stuff โ—

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

