Doing my bit

Earth Hour 2011

Earth Hour 2011

I added my name to the WWF Earth Hour register this evening. If you’re interested in registering simply click the image above and you will be taken to the WWF Earth Hour website.

Tomorrow here in Norwich, the Norwich Carbon Reduction Trust plan to have an engagement stall in the city centre as well as encouraging local stores and restaurants to both take part and do other things like asking people not to take plastic bags on that day. As I will be in the city tomorrow, I might just look in on their stall.

I’m not what you would call an eco warrior but I do my bit. In Norwich we are one of very few councils that recycle waste food and have special waste food bins that are emptied every week. Then of course there is the glass (again separate bins), waste paper and plastic then general waste. I think I put more in the three recycle bins than I ever put in the general waste. Often I throw away just one bag of general waste over one two week period. I’m happy to do this and our local council make this an easy option, I just hope it’s all worth it in the end.

I brought home yet more books today! I really must stop this gathering books habit that I’ve got into, for one I can’t afford it! At least I will have plenty to read over the coming weeks πŸ˜‰ I guess this might also be classed as recycling because the books I bring home have now found a good resting place until I’m no longer around to look after them.

What a glorious week it has been! Plenty of warm spring sunshine, cool evenings and now the prospect of those evenings getting longer as we enter BST and summer itself. I just can’t wait to find myself sitting in some park enjoying the long summer evenings with my nose in a good book.

Next Post

4 Comments

  1. wha – ?
    earth hour is this week-end?!

    thanks for the reminder Trevor, i almost missed it…

  2. I’ve been a member of the WWF for a while now Trevor, and their work is always one which I follow with interest, making sure that people everywhere are aware of the situation World Wide. I also try and do my damnedest to recycle everything I can, and have a garden recycler as-well and a recycle bin. I just wish the plastic manufacturers and users would get together and use one kind which would be easily recyclable… it would save so many headaches.
    It seems so much colder here today, and we’re on the cusp of British Summer Time….shiver!!
    I hope tomorrow brightens and it’s then full steam ahead to the warmer weather… It’d help Bess with her Arthritis too!! πŸ˜€ xPenx

    • I know what you mean about the plastics, some can be recycled, some can’t. It’s the same with foil backed cardboard that a some food gets packaged in, it’s non recyclable which is crazy!
      I hope it warms up tomorrow as well, bloommin cold here today. I can just imagine you and Bess all cuddled up under a blanket watching a film or something, I hope you are both warm this evening.

NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose, poetry, and music.

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

