To Whom It May Concern

When my time is done
and all are gathered to mourn.
I would like some simple questions answered
on my behalf, though yours may be similar.
About why there is so much stress in this life
applied by many that think they do good?

All I ever wanted was a simple life,
one that left me at peace with myself.
I never asked for anything that I was not due.
I don’t want anything to which I’m not entitled.
Yet everyday the postman delivers misery,
adding another straw to this camels load.

How can I apply my will to someone,
when I feel the way I do?
How can I force a life to bear stress,
when all I want is freedom to be me?
These things are asked of me daily,
One striving for a stress free life,
having to apply pressure unnecessarily.

So thank you Mr and Mrs do good,
for bringing into my life something unwanted.
Something that will live forever in a heart
you know nothing about.
When your time comes and the gathered mourn
Will you be asking the same questions,
or will you be asking for forgiveness?

©2011 Trevor Litchfield
Creative Commons Licence
‘To Whom It May Concern’ by Trevor Litchfield is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at http://en.gravatar.com/sundowneruk.

Next Post

6 Comments

  1. A heart felt plea Trevor, well written and to the point … I hope just a questioning of intent rather than in answer to some recent happening … xPenx

    • Pen, sadly it is the latter and I needed to express myself to release that stress. It’s been a while coming but it finally found the page today

  2. Sometimes people think that what they are doing is for the best, but it is not always for the best for the person they are doing it for. The intention is good, but not necessarily as well thought out as it could have been.

    I hope you manage to release some, if not all, of the stress, and allow more of what you want to take it’s place.

    • Aquatom, all I know is that the pressure applied doesn’t help much but it will still be applied whether I want it or not, I’ll just have to live with it and ignore it as best I can. If I let it get to me it will only exacerbate my depression which is something I don’t want. One day what I would like to happen, will happen………..one day!

  3. oh drat Trevor.
    i don’t have any answers or insight.
    i’m so sorry that somethings in life are getting you down and you have to ask.

    under pressure isn’t a great way to live, but it is the way we live.

    on the upside: happy to see the creative spark.

    • I always try to live a stress free life and I hate others applying their stress to me and then expecting me to pass it on, something I never do and even in this instance, I’ve refused to do it though there could be dire consequences for me in my refusal. Still, I feel happier than if I were to apply that pressure.

      Yes, the creative spark, it seems to come through when I need it most, thanks Bex.

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose and poetry

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

