This is the modern life

Billingford Mill

Billingford Mill, Norfolk (Photo taken by yours truly many years ago)

My request is simple, my desire selfish
I would love some peace and quiet
Nothing from the outside getting in
Nothing inside but me, my noises.
No distractions but those I desire
I never thought I would want these things

I would like to live my life the way I want
Without fear of interruption or questioning.
There is always a background
Always a noise distilling into my thoughts.
Never a moment without demands!
Always there is more to answer to.

To be in the fields or among trees
Soaking up sunshine, listening to nature
Watching birds flit from tree to bush
Butterflies floating by on the breeze.
These are the sights and sounds I need
To be free and allowed to be me.

©2011 Trevor Litchfield

Previous Post

4 Comments

  1. I can understand those wishes Trevor, and asking for them to be awarded by request…
    I so enjoyed reading this poem, (I think I recognise the Mill, I went on the Broads, a Cruiser for a weeks holiday years ago, and loved it.) … xPenx

    • Thanks Pen, I’m pleased you enjoyed my request. I think we’d all like to escape the ‘real world’ more often than we are allowed to.
      That windmill isn’t on the Broads, it is not far from Diss, but then you may have visited Diss as well 😉

  2. Great poem, Trevor. I think that many people want to be themselves, but have far too many ‘distractions’ around them that they don’t allow themselves the time…
    Great photo too – it looks kind of ‘moody’ to me!

    • Thanks Aquatom, I’m pleased you enjoyed it.
      That photo is a scan of a really old photo I took over 20 years ago, early one misty Sunday morning, the photo hasn’t been altered in anyway, either it was luck or poor exposure but I loved the outcome and even now it is one of my favorite photos.

NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose and poetry

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

