My dream job

Oxfam Bookshop, Norwich

Oxfam Bookshop, Norwich

If I had a real job I doubt very much I would write about it, in fact I know I would not write about it other than in passing really. You know the sort of thing, I went to work today, did my job and came home. Thing is volunteering isn’t like that for me. It might be because of where I volunteer, or the people I meet or even the philanthropic satisfaction I get from offering my time.

Mostly I put my name down to volunteer on the morning shifts in the shop, this would be from 09:30 until 13:30, a nice four hour shift. I always take a lunch with me otherwise it would be gone 14:30 before I got my lunch, by which time I would be gnawing my knuckles πŸ˜‰

Thing is I have my lunch upstairs in the shop and on days like today where everything is going really well, it is a good crew of volunteers, there is lots to do both downstairs on the shop floor and upstairs with our stock, I just stay on saying to myself all afternoon that I will go home in a minute when I’ve just done this or that. Before I know where I am time has flown by and it is getting on for 16:00 or even later (the shop shuts at 17:30 and I’m sometimes still there!).

I often ask myself if I would be doing this in a paid job, that is, would I be staying on to complete work if I wasn’t getting paid for it? I can assure you the answer would be a resounding no! Yet, here I am happily giving my time way beyond what I said I would do and what is expected of me.

What this says about how much I enjoy being at the shop I’m not sure. I know I love being around the old and sometimes valuable books (you’d have to be a booky person to even understand that last statement). The other volunteers are great, I get on with each and every one of them (rare for me, I’m so used to working on my own that I never thought I’d enjoy being a part of a team so much).

I think it all boils down to one simple fact. I could do this as a job if ever the opportunity arose and in truth I don’t think it would ever feel like a job. I would be there working extra hours for no pay even if it was a proper job.

If you know a bookshop owner in or near Norwich looking for staff? πŸ˜€

2 Comments

  1. If I had my dream job, I don’t know whether I’d be writing about it or not… I moan about my current one incessantly (but that is because it is hardly a dream) – but if I was doing something I loved doing, then yes, I’d write. And write and write! To be honest, I think I’d like to work somewhere that didn’t feel like it was a job. I’m going to make that happen!

    Thanks, Trevor… you’ve set me off on a mission now! πŸ˜€

  2. I think this is how I feel about what I currently do, it isn’t a job but if it were………I think I’d be really happy with it. πŸ˜€
    Good luck in your quest Aquatom

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose and poetry

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

