A Superb Saturday!

 

Wroxham

Matchday Programme, Wroxham v Hadleigh United 09/04/11 (click for larger image)

The sun was shining, it looked so good outside that I just couldn’t resist it. So I checked a few bus timetables, packed my backpack with an extra fleece, my book and some fruit and out the door I went. I did have a destination in mind but I needed to check that my weekly bus ticket allowed for the journey. Let me explain, because I volunteer most days, the cheapest option to get into the city is to buy a weekly travel ticket which then gives me unlimited travel within the city. Today’s journey would take me beyond the city but after checking the bus companies website, it looked like I could travel to my ultimate destination without further cost (important because I could only afford entry to my ultimate destination and not extra travel expenses). To play safe I’d have to ask the driver of the bus once I got into the city.

 

Anyway, I catch a bus into the city from where I live, cross the road and wait for what will hopefully be my next bus. It arrives on time and after a quick confirmation from the driver I’m off to a football match πŸ˜€ This will be my first game of the season (second really but the first was of a much lower standard). I’m on the bus to Wroxham to watch Wroxham FC versus Hadleigh United FC who both play in the Ridgeons League Premier Division.

I’ve been a follower of this level of local football for several seasons and I’ve really missed not going to watch it. Before the separation from my wife I used to watch Diss Town FC most weeks, I even had a short time on the committee there and edited their match day programme for a couple of seasons.

Back to today: I arrive at my destination almost two hours after leaving Trevor Towers but it was such a beautiful day and the journey to Wroxham is mainly through countryside so I didn’t mind the time taken one bit.

I’ll gloss over the game itself apart from mentioning that the home side won 2-1 though to my eyes it was a fairly even match. The weather stayed glorious all afternoon and on into the evening. On my return I read my book, swapped buses in the city and was home around seven o’clock this evening. Wroxham are at home again next Saturday, I think I might be there again if I can afford it

I love days like today πŸ˜€

 

Trafford Park, Home of Wroxham FC

Trafford Park, Home of Wroxham FC

 

 

Previous Post
Next Post

2 Comments

  1. It seems as though it was a good Saturday all round, Trevor! Now to Sunday! πŸ˜€

NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose, poetry, and music.

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

