New Glasses

A bifocal corrective eyeglasses lens

Image via Wikipedia

After a visit to a new opticians last week (and a telling off for not going sooner) I am now the proud owner of new reading glasses 😀 I got the telling off as diabetes and glaucoma run in my family and I should be tested every year, it has been four years since my last eye test!

I also got a spanky new pair of driving glasses (I hate bifocals) but I hope never to have to wear them. For someone that has spent most of his life driving professionally that is some statement but I really do not want to drive even a car ever again. No other reason than over the years I’ve grown to really dislike driving.

I think the stress and responsibility of driving a HGV truck for years has taken it’s toll on my nerves (and blood pressure) over the years and now I can’t afford to own a car I’m so much happier in myself. I don’t even think about not having a car, I don’t think about how much easier it would be to go shopping/days out etc if I still had a car. Instead I think about planning my journey to account for the public transport in the city, I allow extra time to get to important meetings and it doesn’t frustrate me one bit that it can take an hour to get from where I live to the other side of the city (about seven miles/15-20 minutes by car in peak traffic).

Now the nice weather is back I’ll soon be checking over my bicycle and I can cycle across the city quicker than traveling by bus, if I were a lot fitter I imagine I could cycle across the city quicker than driving a car plus Norwich is quite cycle friendly with cycle lanes and plenty of cycle parking all around the city and for the most part it is reasonably flat land 😀 with one or two notable exceptions.

I really don’t need a car and neither do the majority of the city populace but there are still plenty of cars about every day.

Previous Post

3 Comments

  1. I like the freedom that I feel comes with a car, but there is a price. Traffic jams. Other drivers. Red traffic lights. Pedestrians. Animals. Fog.

    As I say, I like the freedom that I feel comes with travelling by public transport.

    • The thing I’ve learned to enjoy most is the reading time I gain every day 😀 I can now be found with my nose in a book every time I’m on the bus which gives me about an hours extra reading every time I go into the city. I could never do that if I had to drive plus of course I’ve had none of those other distractions to look out for.

  2. i’m a bit back and forth on the driving thing…i like the freedom, hate some of the things that go along, but love the security – it means that i don’t have to wait around in the dark for buses and gives me greater control over my time….that being said, i don’t think i could handle the stress of of driving professionally…happy that you have new glasses! new glasses are the best!

NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose, poetry, and music.

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

