DIY Haircut!

Old-time men's grooming aids

Image by gailf548 via Flickr

Thanks to my son I’ve discovered Spotify, a music website where you can listen to just about any sort of music for free, well up to 20 hours worth a month anyway. To remove the adds and get unlimited play is just Ā£4.99 a month, I think I might soon be subscribing as I’ve already used up 4 hours of my allotted 20 free hours and I only signed up last night!

I have to admit that Spotify has everything I would be likely to listen to and much more besides, I would certainly be getting value for money if I did subscribe. Thing is I’m also registered at Last.fm (you may have already noticed šŸ˜‰ ) and on there you get ‘radio stations’ that can be tuned by tag or artist. At the basic level it is free and you rarely get adverts plus there is no time limit on music played on free accounts.

I am still considering subscribing to Spotify though, there is such a choice and you get to choose what you want to listen to, or at least which tracks and albums, unlike Last.fm which once you have the station running, they choose what you listen too. I don’t mind this as I simply choose an artist I like then the station plays artists similar to the one I’ve named.

I’ll have to think a bit more but I can see me parting with my Ā£4.99 a month šŸ˜€

I cut my hair myself for the first time today. I already have some hair clippers and today I was brave enough (and fed up enough with my hair) to sit on the floor and shave my head with a #3 comb on the clippers. My daughter has seen the results via a webcam and she says it looks fine, I just hope I’ve not left any tufty patches šŸ˜€

The shop was open today and as I had nothing better to do I went in. We (the shop) are going to have a stall at a book festival tomorrow. Today I helped the manager decide what books we would take plus help gather all the Oxfam promotional material we would need. I will be helping out on the stall for a while tomorrow as well. I’m looking forward to this and I really hope there are no books that I can afford on the other stalls. I have a pile that seems to grow almost weekly that needs reading, I really don’t want to be adding yet more to this pile tomorrow šŸ˜€

4 Comments

  1. cool music sites – thanks for sharing.
    you are so brave to do your hair yourself! be sure to pick up that web cam to get the “whole head view”!

    oh, have an amazing time at the book fest, it sounds like a great day!

  2. Hi Bex, I’ve been told that my hair looks as it should so I’m quite pleased with myself šŸ˜€
    I love the music websites though I’m still considering whether to subscribe to Spotify or not. I like Last.fm and when not playing music on my PC I use their ‘radio’ a lot and mostly i’m happy with that.

  3. I’m with Bex, Trevor, very brave with the shears methinks, and well done too. Maybe you have a new career ahead? (a head? geddit?) šŸ˜€ oh I am so, so witty today…(I know a matter of opinion!!) xPenx

    • I will ignore the pun šŸ˜€ but I was just getting fed up with no volunteers brave enough to have a go so I thought what the heck………and had a go myself šŸ˜€ I’ve been told by several people that it looks great (I even had one friend ask when I could shave his head!)
      Brave?………stupid more like šŸ˜‰

NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose, poetry, and music.

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

ā— Poems 'n Stuff ā—

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

