Being a Librarian & Cherry Blossom

Cherry Blossom

Cherry Blossom, photo by yours truly

Another gorgeous day here in Norfolk though there is a bit of a nip in the breeze this evening, still a glorious Easter weekend.

I applied to be a Librarian at Goodreads last week and I found out today that I have been accepted 😀 This entails correcting any errors, adding images where appropriate and generally making sure everything is corrected when I notice errors. I only have to do this to books I read or where I notice it. There are strict guidelines to work by though, I hope I don’t make too many errors. The thing I do like about it is that they ask that no ‘copy and pasting’ is done from other websites, especially Wikipedia. I guess they’ve had issues with this in the past. Anything I update will be directly from the book as I only intend to update books that I come across that I am either reading or intend to read.

Today I went into the bookshop again. We only opened for four hours today but it was a good chance to cull the books. We do this every week and remove those books that haven’t been sold after two months. We date books when we place them on the shelf so the job is easy if laborious. Oddly I quite enjoy doing this job, then I enjoy restocking the shelves with new books. Most of the culled books get reincorporated back into the system after a month or so, we only send really poor quality or badly damaged books to be recycled, we always try and find a new home for every book donated, no matter how long we have to keep it in stock. I like this about the bookshop, it feels good to know that eventually almost every book will find a new home 🙂

Where I catch the bus back home from the city is near Norwich Castle, at the back of the bus stops and in front of the castle are loads of cherry blossom trees. At the moment they look fantastic, laden with pink blossom and the scent is wonderful! I love cherry blossom but it just doesn’t last long enough, no sooner is it out than we get a breeze and it’s off the trees and getting blown everywhere making a right mess. Still it’s beautiful for that short period it is on the trees.

8 Comments

  1. I love cherry blossoms, too. I haven’t seen any in Mass, but they are especially beautiful, and also smell great.

    • Thanks for dropping by, having a read and especially for commenting inquisitorial. The Cherry Blossom is lovely here in the UK at the moment though I expect it will soon be off the trees and on the ground, lovely while it lasts though.

  2. It’s such a shame it doesn’t last very long Trevor, as soon as it blossoms it seems to cascade down and fall at your feet. Congrats on being accepted as a Librarian, and happy proof reading to you. I do hope you’re having/had (?) a great Easter, and hows little pancake? xPenx

    • The blossoms are already falling 😦
      Being a Goodreads Librarian will be fun (I hope), another thing I’ve signed up to without thinking too much about it though 😀
      I had a really good if quiet Easter, I hope you and Bess enjoyed the long weekend with the fine weather we had.
      Pancake (or Herbert, Trouble, Sherbert, Boyo 😉 ) is coming along just fine thanks. I’ll try and get some new photos of him this weekend and post on here, he is just so quick and playful at the moment the only time he stops is to eat, drink and ………(well, you know 😉 )

  3. oh excellent about the librarian position! this sounds like a perfect opportunity for you! the cherry blossoms sound wonderful…

    • I think the librarian position will be fun (I hope so anyway), all the cherry blossom is gone 😦 we had strong breeze the last couple of days and it’s all on the ground now.

  1. A New Year’s blossom « Work – live – travel – a life in diversity
  2. What is a Goodreads Librarian? | Deb's Answers
NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose, poetry, and music.

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

