A good clear out!

Sometimes your cupboards get over full,
it needs a good clear out of the rubbish.
Old clothes that you no longer wear
need to be sorted and discarded.
That old pair of jeans that are full of holes,
that old shirt that has seen better days.
They all need clearing to make room
for new and different clothes.

Then you turn your attention to the bookcase,
over burdened with books read and unread.
Which should you keep, which to pass on?
There are plenty of new books to fill the gaps
but you have to make the gaps to be refilled.
Your mind churns as does your heart,
memories of this or that one
Good reads all apart from those untouched.

Your rooms are now cleared and tidy,
life feels better, lighter somehow.
All those clothes don’t need washing,
all those books don’t need dusting.
Sitting back with a mug of tea,
you glory in a job well done.
Time for new beginnings, new clothes,
new books to read, hoping that nothing will be missed.

©2011 Trevor Litchfield

Previous Post

4 Comments

  1. New beginnings are always good, Trevor! In fact, you’ve put me in mind to do a little de-cluttering myself! Although not today…

    • You may have noticed the blog was private for a few days, this gave me chance to have a rethink about how I wanted the blog to appear and what it contained. This poem is about that along with a few other things in my life.
      I’m not really looking at new beginnings, maybe a different route though.
      I’m pleased you enjoyed the read and that it has got you thinking about de-cluttering, it’s always good to have a clearout now and then

      • Any time and any change of direction is a new beginning; well, that’s how I see things anyway! Like you say, it is good to have a clearout occasionally and reassess!
        I noticed you had closed the blinds for a few days… I had an inkling it was for refurbishments; and I was right! I like the new look!

        • I’m pleased you like the new look, it’s not as fussy as it was before though I still like all the widget things 😉
          I can understand what you say about new beginnings, I guess in a way it is a new beginning but to me it also feels like I’m moving on, taking the next step so to speak.

NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose, poetry, and music.

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

