If I were younger

If I were younger,
I could not want you more than I do now.
My desire would be just as overwhelming.

I love the way you play with your hair.
Tugging at it gently as we talk,
Twisted between your fingers, selfconsciously.

Your smile lights up the room,
I can’t help but smile with you.
How I wish the day would never end.

We talk, open and honestly.
We are so comfortable together.
Easy with each other, relaxed.

I’m glad I met you,
I would not change a thing.
I am so lucky; you are a friend.

So, I am happy with who we are, when we met
In an odd way,
I am so glad I am not younger
because we would not be who we are now.
We could not be honest and open,
You might reject. I might disappoint,
Your friendship I cherish,
I could not suffer it’s loss.
You are in my heart,
There you will stay until it beats no more.

©2011 Trevor Litchfield

Previous Post

8 Comments

  1. love this little piece..and loved your bio,so pleased to have met you,and delighted to be a guest here..hope you dont throw me out..Eliza Keating

    • Thanks for dropping by, reading and especially commenting. How could I throw you out 😉

  2. Nice, honest thoughts, Trevor!

  3. Such a nice poem, openly and kindly written. We really need the quality of being sincere and honest to other people, and in our parts… need to like ourselves in ways we are… and simply be happy 🙂

    • Thanks inquisitorial, I am (hopefully) always honest, I think this often shows through in my poetry.
      I’ve found if you don’t like yourself, others don’t like you either, mix both honesty and a certain amount of liking ourselves and I think we become good humans.

  4. so, so true Trevor, to meet when old enough to understand ourselves and what’s important to us. A lovely, thoughtful and romantic poem. xPenx

    • Thanks Pen, I rarely understand myself but this time with this situation, I think I have found something within me I had not found before.

NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose, poetry, and music.

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

