The Overman Culture: Book Review

The Overman CultureThe Overman Culture by Edmund Cooper

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This took a lot longer to read than I ever anticipated. I guess life took over instead of my usual reading times these last few days. Anyway a thoroughly enjoyable read and a very different take on total annihilation of the species.

Almost from the opening paragraph I was hooked and wanted to learn more about the characters, this book could have been twice as long and still not had enough detail for me. For all that it has enough to fill in any gaps that occur.

The whole premise of annihilation is one that seems uppermost in everyone’s mind this week so I guess it was a fortuitous read for me.

At least the outcome of this book gives us all hope that something better will arrive for humanity one of these days.

A different twist on an old topic and for me it would have been a real page turner if I could have given it more than half an hour here and there. Given a clear day I would probably have read it in one 8 hour sitting (I’m not the fastest reader)

The idea of the extinction of the species is not a new one but I felt this tale took it to someplace other than destruction, bringing hope where none lived.

I felt the final few chapters were a bit rushed, as if the author had overstepped his publishers time limits or something but other than that a thoroughly enjoyable read.

I’d recommend it if a reader was new to SF as I feel it gives a good easy start into some of the more profound ideas that SF can bring to fiction.

The Overman Culture by Edmund Cooper
Published by Coronet Science Fiction 1974
190 Pages
First Published by Hodder and Stoughton 1971

View all my reviews

Previous Post

3 Comments

  1. Kristin Brænne

     /  May 21, 2011

    Be a ★

  2. like the star rating system.
    sounds like an interesting read and yes, so very timely.

    man, now i want to read some SF…

    • This was a good story yet very easy reading, almost like it was aimed at a YA audience. It covered a couple of themes that don’t usually crop up in SF, so for me it was a good enjoyable read.
      I think you should get some SF reading done 😉

NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose, poetry, and music.

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

