My Time Of The Month!

The monthly ritual once again.
Seated on the floor, legs spread wide.
Head bowed as if in supplication.
Let the removal begin!

The buzzing begins as I flick the switch,
like a dentists drill disturbing my thoughts.
I run my fingers through my hair,
was it only a month since I last sat here?

My thoughts wander to other places
as the removal takes place.
Places I once new so well,
places I’m not likely to see again.

Small piles gather on the tiled floor.
The removal goes well today!
I stare at the colours as they lay there,
thinking that was once blond, now it’s grey.

And so to the final minutes.
Once again fingers through hair.
It feels good and even,
check in the mirror for anything missed.

My monthly ritual is now complete,
I feel human for another term.
Be damned if I’m paying a tenner for this,
when this ritual has become such a part of me.

©2011 Trevor Litchfield

8 Comments

  1. ellielawson

     /  May 22, 2011

    lol. love it!

  2. Great read, thanks for sharing your thoughts and feelings on your monthly ritual Trevor, a Tenner saved? My visit to my ‘cropper’ costs me £60. (gulp!!).. xPenx

  3. hah! really enjoyed the words Trevor – drew me right in with just the right of humour! had to giggle.

    • I’m so pleased that it made you giggle, it was written in the hope that it would make the reader at least smile, hope fulfilled 😀 What more could I ask?

  4. Raven

     /  May 27, 2011

    LOL had to read it a couple times here…I like this and the the title, being your monthly and all. 🙂
    Rx

    • Yeah, my monthly is over in ten minutes but it’s almost as bad as shaving, which I really do hate!
      I’m pleased you enjoyed it enough to go back and read it again 😉

NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose and poetry

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

