Friends, Soul Mates, Lovers.

This is a stream of thoughts, yet there is an inner meaning to these words and yes, it is hoped that a certain person reads this. This is very different from my normal poetry, I hope you like it. I have opened myself for you to discover if you so desire.

Friends, Soul Mates, Lovers.
All require different levels of commitment,
all require different levels of attention.
All but one are missing in this life.

Friends are that most important of acquaintances,
they share things you would not share with the other groups.
They share your desires,your secrets.
They share all the fun things in your life.

They could and often do become one of the others,
yet they will always remain friends first
because they know your desires,
they know your secrets.

Soul Mates, special in every way
yet difficult to describe.
They mean more to you than life itself,
maybe even more than a lover!

They know more than your desires,
they know the innermost you.
The you no one else sees,
the you, you hide from the world.

They understand that innermost you,
they empathise with it,
they compensate for it,
they are the one you never lose, even in parting.

Lovers! The one you give your heart to,
the one that destroys you when they leave.
The one you hope will understand you most
yet invariably, they understand you least.

If a Friend or Soul Mate becomes a lover,
the understanding you once had, is lost.
All reason seems to disappear,
when you become entangled in the bed sheets.

These words may be coming from hard earned lessons,
these remarks might seem jaded.
I would happily give my heart again,
I would like to meet the others first.

To meet a Soul Mate would be my desire,
one I could share the innermost me with.
Learn the innermost them.
Become more than a friend or lover.

I write in secret hope that you discover
these words specifically for you.
I already know what is to come
I already know it will be for life.

I do not ache within, as a lover might.
I know there is no ache within you.
Yet, we both know it will happen
when the time is right.

Soul Mate, if you read this, as I know you may.
I wait patiently, my world awaits you.
When you are ready to share your life with me.
I am ready to share my life with you.

©2011 Trevor Litchfield

1 Comment

  1. beautiful.

NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose, poetry, and music.

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

