To Be By The sea

By the sea

By the sea (image by yours truly)

To be by the sea
when the sun is warm
and the breeze is light.
Soaking up the day as my
mind is washed clean by the
sound of the waves hitting the shore.

To be by the sea
when the tide is angry
and the wind is fierce.
Soaking up the spray as my
mind is washed clean by the
feel of the water on my face.

To be by the sea
at the dead of night
and the wind is fair.
Soaking up the darkness as my
mind is washed clean by the
steady heartbeat of the tide.

To be by the sea
is a place I long to be
with you at any time of day.
Soaking up your aura as my
mind is filled with your voice
and the tide keeps time on life.

text & image©2011 Trevor Litchfield

Next Post

8 Comments

  1. Indigo Spider

     /  June 9, 2011

    I love the photo that accompanies this poem, beautiful. The couple embracing in the distance and the grainy sand, nice contrast, perfect.

    The poem also perfect for a summer day. I love the “heartbeat of the tide” and the “tide keeps time on life”, wonderful lines in a wonderful poem.

    • Thanks Indigo, I’m so pleased you enjoyed it. Summer seems to be very showery and quite chilly here in the UK today 😦
      The photo is one I took a couple of years ago and I wrote the poem before I thought of adding the photo to it when I posted it.

  2. your poem sir is very accurate in my place because I lived here near by the sea. i love to watch the sand blowing by the wind, the cool breeze of air coming from the ocean and watching the sun go down together with my wife. God bless.

    • Thanks for visiting, reading and especially commenting erjegarimbao,

  3. Just to be by the sea, is my cry, Trevor, I would wish that I could live there, but alas has never come to pass. Maybe one day. Your poem hit the right spot my friend. xPenx

    • Thanks Pen,
      I love the coast and like you, would love to live a bit closer to it. One day our shared dream may come true.
      Trevor xx

  4. I like this poem Trevor! It has reminded me that I like being by the sea too (well, any water for that matter… I’m drawn to water!) Being by the sea at night is magical; an amazing experience! Yes, thank you for reminding me! 😀

    • I’m really pleased you enjoyed this one Tom. The coast is one of my favourite places, I just don’t get there often enough.

NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose, poetry, and music.

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

