Lonely People

Lonely People

People sitting alone on the bus,
in the park, in the cinema, at home.
They wait for a life to arrive,
alone with no one to think of them.
Why are so many people alone,
when they could be sharing their life?

Some are alone through choice,
healing from a relationship breakdown.
Some are ready to start anew,
looking for that perfect someone.
Some are waiting for that first love,
with all the excitement that entails
Some are simply alone,
living a life, not prepared to share.

Others are where they are
through no choice of their own.
A partner passed away
through illness, accident, age.
Left behind to pick up the pieces
of two lives tragically become one.

You see these faces every day,
some searching faces for a sign.
You see a yearning in their eyes,
a yearning that perhaps, they see the one
We all do it, looking into lonely eyes,
searching for a smile in return.
We are alone in our bodies, always.
We have the desire to share the worldly.

We may have been hurt,
abandoned by our previous love.
We all have it within us to love,
or love again if necessary.
To share your life is such a gift,
bringing hope and laughter as you share.

So be brave when eyes are searching yours,
smile back with your best smile.
Eyes glinting in the sunlight
may bring something more than love.
Respect, friendship, companionship
are just as important, if not more.
The next time I see your eyes,
I will smile, hoping you smile back.

Β©2011 Trevor Litchfield

One Shot Wednesday Week 50

Click image to visit One Shot Wednesday Week 50

Previous Post
Next Post

20 Comments

  1. Indigo Spider

     /  June 11, 2011

    Oh, this is just lovely. I will be rereading this over several times, just beautiful, sad and yet not sad. Tremendous, thanks!

  2. Indigo Spider

     /  June 11, 2011

    P.S. I also like the accompanying photo, did you take it?

    • Thank Indigo Spider,
      It’s not my photo though I wish it was, I can’t find the photographers details otherwise I would credit them, I just found it on an image search.
      It is sad but I’m pleased you found the hope within, there is hope for us all
      Trevor

  3. Very nice once again, Trevor. The wanting is the sad part, the noticing is the hope. Your words are quite poignant actually.

    • Hope is in us all everyday Tom, I guess the poignancy is that the words mean a lot to many of us.

  4. Wonderful poem, told from deep within the human condition. By that I mean I think you know what you are talking about. I loved the last part about looking for a smile. I try to remember to smile at people if they look at me. I used to feel embarrassed and not know what to do. It finally occurred to me to just smile at them. It has worked wonders for both me and the recipient for many years. Thanks for sharing this lovely and poignant bit of humanity.

    • Like many of us that write poetry, our words come from within and life experiences, it is a way of release to write them down.
      It’s not always easy to smile but I try whenever anyone looks into my eyes whilst giving back that same eye contact. I feel eye contact is the most important first insight into how we feel and much can be shared by such a simple act.

  5. Says it all , Trevor, and yes, a smile shared, can mean more than a thousand words…. Lovely, but poignant poem . xPenx

    • A shared smile, even with a total stranger can be such an uplifting moment that it changes the outlook of the whole day, so on this cold and damp Monday morning I’ll be sharing as many smiles as possible, I might even try a few ‘virtual’ smiles πŸ™‚
      Thanks Pen, as always your reading and commenting on my words is so appreciated

  6. this is a wonderful write…filled with love…in the noticing of those around us…great challenge…great one shot…

    • Thanks Brian, it is drawn from life so I guess it has more meaning which hopefully comes through in the reading.

  7. Lovely but sad,like the ending..that does help others.

    • Thanks for reading and especially commenting Leah, sad but hopeful was my aim

  8. Smile…you just never know. Nice one shot!

  9. Yeah sometimes we should dig our heads out of the ground and have a look, not just wishing. Other times we should dig back in, if a nut comes along..lol…very nice poem

    • It’s not the easiest thing to do but if we want to meet new people, I guess we have to surface from time to time. Thanks for reading and commenting Pat

  10. Hello Trevor.
    A very thought-provoking One Shot.
    We should all smile at each other…it’s about the only thing left that doesn’t cost anything.

    Very nicely penned.

    Here’s mine:
    http://mypoetcharm.blogspot.com/2011/01/introduce-me-to-your-emotions.html

    • Thanks Andy, I’m sure if they could find a way, they would tax us for smiling

NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose, poetry, and music.

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

