Boy on step

In response to Indigo Spiders Sunday Picture Press VI

In loving memory of my mum 08/09/35 – 12/06/2008

Visual Prompt 2

Visual Prompt 2 -- Title/Artist unkown, discovered via http://smashinghub.com/

Dad said we would go today,
we would visit mum today.
Dad promised we would go yesterday too.
We didn’t go!
Dad sits crying but he wont tell me why.
He has sat crying for three days.
Everyday he says we’ll go and see mum.

Friends come round, sitting with dad,
they all give him a hug
and I get one too.
They all leave with tears in their eyes
looking at me,
ladies giving me big sloppy kisses.
I just want my mum!

Dad says we might not see mum anymore!
Where is she?
She was in hospital the other day,
she laughed and joked with me
but she was crying.
I asked her why she was crying
and dad brought me home.

Three days since I saw my mum.
She cooks better than dad.
He doesn’t bake cakes or anything!
I’m just going to sit on this step
until mum comes home!
I love my dad but,
I want my mum.

©2011 Trevor Litchfield

Previous Post
Next Post

11 Comments

  1. Lovely tribute Poem,but so,so sad, Trevor, and all the more so because of the little boy, wanting to understand what’s going on with the grownups. When I was about 10 or eleven, my Grandfather went into hospital, he was the only male figure I had, as my dad had been out of the picture for ages, and when gramps died, I and my little Sis went on a pilgrimage, we were so sure he’d just gone to a different family, maybe because we hadn’t been good. We spent ages looking about the neighbourhood., but never did find him. So many steps sat on, just waiting in hope. xPenx

    • Thanks Pen. Another sad one from me but it made me feel happy whilst writing it, I feel happy about how it turned out though.
      I lost my grandfather at a similar age to you, it was a tough time.

  2. Indigo Spider

     /  June 13, 2011

    Aw, so sad, poor little boy. Luckily I did not suffer the loss of a parent at a young age but even as an adult, when my dad died, I admit to feeling like this little boy. I understood yet I didn’t. I suspect you understand as this is a tribute to your mom. Beautiful poem that captures the pain of loss at any age. Even as adults we feel like little children when we lose our parents.

    I am sorry for your loss, by the way. My dad died 4/29/2004.

    • I think the anniversary yesterday along with seeing your prompt made me think the way I did. I remember vividly how I felt that day. Although both my sister and me were in our 40’s, we were now orphans and I know we both felt like the little boy I wrote about.

  3. I really feel the little boys plight. He’s right too! Dads can’t cook nearly half as well as mums, at least not when you’re that age! You really got the confused train of thought spot on, he doesn’t really understand where his mum is, poor kid. Really enjoyed this, and it’s always fun to read how someone else interpreted the photo.

    • I think you’re right to assume most men don’t know the kitchen that well (present company excepted)
      I’m pleased you enjoyed this and thanks for reading and especially commenting

  4. Raven

     /  June 15, 2011

    This is insightful of a boys thoughts, sad to lose a parent so young topped with not understanding it. I imagine you the boy sitting on the step while wanting to comfort and cook something for you. Suppose the mother in me makes me feel that way.
    Smiles with warm feathery to you,
    Ravenxx

    • It was simple coincidence that I ended up writing what I did. The day I saw the photo was the anniversary of my mother passing on, the photo brought back vivid memories of how I felt that day.
      I’d let you mother me any day of the week 😉
      Warm and feathery xx
      Trevor

  5. Awww, my heart hurt for this little guy. A grown-up world can be so harsh and so confusing. You did a great job getting that across along with his love and longing for his mum!
    Thank you!

  6. Awww, this one was a really nice poem!! It’s been a long time since I last read a poem, and I love poems like this…a poem that makes you feel.

  1. Sunday Picture Press VII | Indigo Spider
NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose and poetry

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

