Floating

In response to Indigo Spiders Sunday Picture Press VI

OK, I had a go at the second prompt, or more exactly, the first prompt ๐Ÿ™‚ Enjoy.

Visual Prompt 1 -- The Nightmare by Daniel Corneanu

Visual Prompt 1 -- The Nightmare by Daniel Corneanu

I wanna stop feeling like this!
Upside down, inside out.
My world gone crazy!
Floating on the breeze,
a gossamer web.
My body feels like it isn’t there,
it isn’t my body at all.
Swirling through the aether.
Free!

Trees fly by, giant winged beings,
squawking!
Their leafs laugh at me.
Blue grass underfoot,
red rivers meandering.
Fluffy white pillows out of reach
My mind inside out,
thoughts escape,
fleeing!

Reality evaporates,
vaporising!
The boiling kettle of my life bubbling away.
Escaping steam whistles it’s farewell.
Attempting to grasp reality,
senses fail to comprehend.
Bodily extremities flail.
My life begins to fall away
as I wake with a thump on my bed!

ยฉ2011 Trevor Litchfield

Previous Post
Next Post

12 Comments

  1. Kristin Brรฆnne

     /  June 14, 2011

    Stay excellent!

  2. thank Goodness it’s not just me!! ๐Ÿ˜‰ … and that start when you awake. shocking in the extreme Trevor.
    Great read… xPenx

    • Thanks Pen. I’ve not had a dream/nightmare like that in years but those I did have stuck in my memory. Glad you enjoyed my nightmare ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Indigo Spider

     /  June 14, 2011

    You really captured that feeling of being in a dream like state. Has a nice floating quality like when in a dream but then abruptly woken. Nice!

    • Those sort of dreams/nightmares are the worst but I’m pleased you enjoyed the journey

  4. ๐Ÿ˜€ I’ve had that thump awake a few times… the most recent was a dream involving an open space and a little bull. Still have nightmares thinking about it! However, all that to one side, I really enjoy the dreamy feel to this poem Trevor!

    • Thanks Tom. I had to work hard trying to remember what it was like to dream like this but once in the flow I found it soon came rushing back. I hope I don’t have to go through this again in a hurry ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Raven

     /  June 15, 2011

    I have similar dreams, I often fly or float in different places…often there are people who watch even join me. I wake feeling very refreshed and happy. A thump on the head would not be so good.
    FYI: My old boss has me on tape pretend flying on the Graveyard shift through the halls of a hospital. zzzzoooommmm LOL
    This was a more intense and thoughtful look at such a delightful feeling.
    Warm and feathery,
    Rx

    • Raven, I have a bit of a reputation for not having dreams on the blogs I visit/comment on. It seems I’m the only one that sleeps in an unconscious state!
      This was from memory but these sorts of dreams do tend to stay with you.

  6. As I was reading your poem I thought of folks who deal with instability in their lives and who struggle every day. It reminds me a bit of that, too.
    Thank you!

  1. Sunday Picture Press VII | Indigo Spider
NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose, poetry, and music.

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

โ— Poems 'n Stuff โ—

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

