Waiting

The appointed time had arrived,
I stood waiting.
Would I recognise you from the photo,
people passed by.
There you were, walking towards me,
not recognising me.
My photo must either be very bad,
or not representative.

Holding my breath, I walk towards you,
saying your name as I close in.
You look to me, smiling, grateful to see me,
you were not stood up.
We talk hurriedly, where should we go?
A café around the corner.
Our chatter slows down, we scrutinise,
giving each other a once over.

We walk towards the café, talking nothings,
are you as nervous as me?
We enter, find a table and get served our coffees,
we look at each other.
The talking starts, we talk and talk,
like long lost friends.
Our hour passes all to quickly,
I want more.

We leave the café agreeing to contact,
swapping numbers.
Now here I sit, do I call you so soon?
It was only this morning.
I want to talk and talk like we did today,
already I miss you.
I email you, now I await your reply,
waiting!

©2011 Trevor Litchfield

Previous Post
Next Post

14 Comments

  1. I too have met in person people I have been friends with on the internet. I also am familiar with the excited, scared feeling when the moment arrives for my first glimpse of the person.

    You have captured it perfectly, even to the talking non-stop for an hour. This is a wonderfully evocative poem. I love it.

    • It is a scary moment, I know that much Sandra.
      It’s good to know I got that feeling across as that was my aim

  2. Indigo Spider

     /  June 16, 2011

    As Sandra has said, this is a wonderfully evocative poem that captures a first meeting beautifully. It has all the nerves and excitement woven through the lines nicely. It makes a great story in poem form.

    • Thanks Indigo Spider 🙂
      My aim was to try and get all the nervousness and excitement across which it appears I have done. I like writing this type of story poetry but the ideas rarely come forward.

  3. I hope the two inter ~ connectors meet again Trevor , and that the waiting is at an end, it would be lovely to think so . 🙂 x Pen x

    • Well, I got the reply I was waiting for Pen, it seems a new friendship may grow which is excellent in my book 🙂

  4. henriettamaddox

     /  June 17, 2011

    Hi Trevor. This was great. I’m rubbish at poems so I’m not even going to try and say something clever about it. But I really liked how you seemed to end a lot of the lines with what he was thinking in that moment. For me, that gave it the rhythm.

    • Thanks for dropping by and having a read Henrietta (or should I say Vicky 😉 )
      As long as you enjoyed it then I think my message was delivered. It’s not important to be good at poetry, just enjoy the words and images that are built by them

  5. Nervous chat and do I call? / should I call? / what if I call and?… complicated times but funny to look back on! 🙂 Great poem Trevor.

    • Thanks Tom, complicated times indeed but all part of my life at the moment 🙂

  6. Nice way of putting a simple moment of anxiety and feeling. Good one Trevor 🙂

    • Thanks for reading and especially commenting Neha, I’m pleased you enjoyed the read.

  7. Raven

     /  June 20, 2011

    Well said my friend…that first meeting, the nervousness, the look and the conversation sweet sweet. Nice to know a man waits for the right time to call as do we wait for a call. I will the phone to ring with my mental powers…it is a telemarketer! LOL It happens.

    • It never did ring Raven, I did get a text message though:) Onwards and upwards, I’m told this gets easier, I think they’re telling me fibs!
      Warm and feathery my friend.

NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose, poetry, and music.

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

