Procrastinate

Procrastinate v – Postpone or delay needlessly (TheSage – dictionary/thesaurus software I have installed on my PC).

The month is slipping by,
I have far too many books to read!
A book a week is my aim,
with time off for good behaviour.
I’ve been stuck in my current read
for over two weeks now!
It is not a fat tome,
a million pages of science wonderment.
It is a simple book full of life,
though on a different time-line.
The words are simple
yet full of meaning.
My apologies Mr author,
for not reading your book in a timely fashion.
I am enjoying it,
just not fast enough!

©2011 Trevor Litchfield

Previous Post
Next Post

11 Comments

  1. sometimes books can pull you in and you can’t read the story fast enough,,. yet with others you have to read every word and not miss any of the message contained there-in… I try to enjoy all my books, Trevor, as you certainly seem to do, and at one time I promised myself that I had to read a book to the end, even If I wasn’t enjoying it.. (soon gave that up when I lingered for months on one terrible storyline) … Happy reading my friend, some books are a treasure to be savoured, and slowly digested… (um.. I must be feeling hungry, with these food analogies!!!) xPenx

    • I think life is taking over at the moment Pen. Oh for half an hour to myself!

  2. Indigo Spider

     /  June 19, 2011

    Oh, so many reads, so little time. I used to be, like Pen said, the type that would have to finish a book once it was started. Unfortunately, there had been some that were so awful it would affect my mood as I would spend my day grumbling about an awful book! Then I woke up and realized I didn’t have to finish a book I wasn’t enjoying. Imagine that. So, perhaps your procrastination is because it is time to move on from an awful book!

    • I’ve always been the type to put a book down if I’m not enjoying it, I learned that lesson early. I’ll finish this one though, it’s just a case of when?

  3. I like books that hook me and I can’t put them down… I don’t like it if I have to, say, go to sleep or something(!). Having said that, once I put a book down, good or not, sometimes it takes me a while to pick them up again. I frustrate myself being like this!

    • I’m in that place now Tom, it is taking a while to get back to it 🙂

  4. Raven

     /  June 20, 2011

    Sometimes it is not the book simply the reader!
    Well, I must say I have learned a new word….not to procrastinate for I have a BS in that, my personal saying is “why do it today or tomorrow when at the last moment under pressure I do my best” LOL total lie, but it gets the laugh and that is certainly important in my world.
    Warm warm 🙂

  5. Raven

     /  June 20, 2011

    LOL the new word…I do get side tracked easily! Like a child I am told. I looked it up…. tome….it seems British to me LOL

    • Oh Raven of Leyla, to know I have helped you learn a new word is something special to me 😉
      I think in this case it is the reader and not the book, it is quite a good read and when I finally finish it my review will say how good I thought this book was. I just need to finish it!

  6. jennyozzy

     /  June 20, 2011

    i never have time to read much these days but when my back was really bad i read a book a day mostly paranormal and spiritual books fascinate me if the book your reading doesnt get your whole attention put it down its not for you trevor xxjen

    • This book has my attention Jen, I just have not had the time (still don’t)! I really do need to get on with it though, my book mountain gets ever higher.

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose and poetry

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

