27 Club

27 Club – Wikipedia.

I find this coincidence quite morbid, the loss of such talented people at such a young age.
They live on forever in their music. May their souls party on.

Janis Joplin

Janis Joplin (January 19, 1943 – October 4, 1970)

Self destruction seems a part of life,
the desire to flee this one chance on earth.
We all have talents hidden within us,
discovering our talents is the key.
Yet discovery is not enough for some,
they feel there is more in another place.
We cannot pretend to understand
the thought process of the gifted.
Sadly there are some that leave us early,
gifting us with their legacy to enjoy.
Moribund is the author sitting here,
attempting to understand the why.

©2011 Trevor Litchfield

Their candles burned so bright,
their light extinguished to soon.
We now live in their shadow,
attempting to relight the flame.

I think Sir Elton John might be the the inspiration for this last piece, a misquote from his song “Candle In The Wind

Previous Post

14 Comments

  1. Too true, Trevor, so many seem haunted, whether by their talent, what it brings with it, or maybe what it takes away. We continue on our journey, but remember them at their best, just as Marilyn Monroe, still written about, hauntingly in Elton Johns rendition, Candle In The Wind, (although it was later taken and now forever attached to the death of Princess Diana) … and they stay forever young. …. Maybe that’s It? Who knows what’s in their minds. Thoughtful and meaningful poem, my friend. xPenx

    • I guess they do stay forever young but to me it still seems such a waste especially as many seem to be addicted to one drug or another that contributes to their untimely demise.
      I discovered that wikipaedia page by chance and I felt I just had to write something, I’m not sure it’s that good but it was how I felt at the time of writing.
      Thanks Pen
      Trevor xx

  2. Indigo Spider

     /  June 23, 2011

    I had not seen that page before. So sad that so many talented, young musicians are gone too early in their lives. The only solace is that we still have their music.

    Nice little tribute to all those lost Trevor.

    • Thanks Indigo Spider, It just seems sad that they die so young but then it’s sad when ever someone dies no matter what age they are.

  3. Thoughtful words, Trevor.

    • Thanks Tom, the page at wikipedia has made me think about a lot of things today

  4. wow. completely morbid.

    i’m not big into coincidences, but…well this just kind of makes me think…something about burning bright and flaming out…very interesting…

  5. Raven

     /  June 24, 2011

    Interesting the Elton John lyric being inspiration that is a good thing. I adore him myself.
    There have been so many leave us around the age of 27 including Kurt Cobain and others of that generation as well as ours. I am always reminded of the song…by Don McLean…Starry Starry Night which is dear to my heart as my sister died young of an overdose.

    A lovely, thoughtful poem,

    Warm feathery,
    Ravenxx

    • Raven

       /  June 24, 2011

      Something else I find interesting in Numerology the number 27 is added together as a 9 which symbolizes the end of a cycle, a completion and ending to allow for a new beginning.
      Nonsensical maybe but interesting to me so I thought to share.

      Rx

    • the four lines were at one time within the poem I wrote but I felt afterwards I was only repeating what I’d heard elsewhere, especially from that song. I’m not a big fan of Elton but I love that song.
      If you follow the link it’s amazing the amount of famous people that died at age 27.

      • Raven

         /  June 26, 2011

        Thanks for reminding me of the link…I had linked to the tune last time. I bookmarked it to look more into it. Sad, sad morbid thing that happens.
        EJ wrote a song about me…spelled my name wrong but that is okay. I shall tell you sometime. shhhhhh

  6. it is almost like the intensity of their muse burns their candle far too quick, as they gut themselves for us…

NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose, poetry, and music.

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

