Before I sleep

The candles burn on, casting long shadows
in a now empty room where we once sat.
Relaxing on the sofa I think back over the evening,
cooking our meal together in the kitchen, laughing.
Me learning new ideas about my food,
you smiling as I fumble through the recipes.

Talking as we ate, the food exciting and new.
Candlelight flickered over our faces as we laughed,
talking about our interests and little observations.
We talked late into the night, then you had to leave.
Darkness fighting the candles as I sit reminiscing,
absorbing the aura of the evening before I sleep.

©2011 Trevor Litchfield

Previous Post

4 Comments

  1. lovely and delightful poem, Trevor, two people enjoying time together…with the candles flickering away… I really liked it…
    and many thanks for commenting on My Girl, it seems I take one step forward and two back, and the sun’s shining and she’s not here to enjoy it with me…I’m trying so bl**dy hard not to wallow, buts it’s flipping difficult. … xx Pen xx

    • Thanks Pen.
      I understand where you are with your feelings about Your Girl. They become part of our lives and we mourn them as if they were our children. Be brave Pen, it gets easier though the memories never subside.

  2. Indigo Spider

     /  June 26, 2011

    i enjoy this poem. Subtle, like the candle light, story of two people enjoying time together. Sweet.

    • That was the emotion I was trying to reach Indigo Spider. I am lucky that I now have a couple of friends that I can share an evening like that with. To be able to relax and be comfortable with each other is a blessing I wouldn’t swap for anything.

NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose, poetry, and music.

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

