An idea: Fiction Sofa

An idea: Fiction Sofa

I had this idea about a new blog and now after much thought, it is live.
The idea is a simple one, most of the people that visit my blog are bloggers themselves and most are fiction writers. I know many of you use writers challenges to give you some ideas but also many of you write for the shear pleasure of writing.

This new blog I have started is for you to help you share your fiction and to help others find your blogs. All you have to do is pick your favourite piece of writing, something you have written from the past week, post a link or pingback in the relevant week and hey presto, with a bit of luck, new readers!

Now I know this all seems a rather simple idea but rather than be another writers challenge website, I thought it would be better if you could highlight what you, the author, thinks is your best piece of writing from the past week.

If you fancy joining in, then visit the Fiction Sofa, have a read and enter what you think was your best piece of fiction writing. Weeks run from midnight Sunday to midnight Sunday (GMT) so you have all week to asses your own writing then post a link to it at the Fiction Sofa.

Take a look anyway, then give me your feedback, I want this to be for all readers and writers at all levels, whether it be short fiction, flash fiction or poetry.

Previous Post
Next Post

6 Comments

  1. Indigo Spider

     /  June 28, 2011

    Hey, great idea, wish I had thought of it!

    • It has been on my mind for a while now and I took the plunge this week. We’ll just have to see how it goes

  2. It is a good idea, Trevor… I’ll be popping over there myself very shortly!

    • Thanks Tom, I know you rarely write fiction but it might be a good place to find some online reading

  3. Very good idea and simple, Trev. There are so many writing challenges going on right now, that I am overwhelmed. Your idea makes it easy to participate. I don’t write every week, but when I do, I will certainly pop by.

    Just one question to clarify – you are talking about pieces of fiction, right? Not an article or a picture post?

    • At the moment it is just fiction but I guess this is flexible, I would prefer it to be inclusive but there are already sites that highlight articles and picture posts so I’m not keen at this time to include them.
      Of course your fiction can include an image that was the prompt for your fiction

NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose, poetry, and music.

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

