Generation Game

Yes, I do think of what my life would be like with you in it!
And yes, I also think we could have some fun.
You are in my thoughts almost hourly,
I cannot shake the picture of you from my mind!
We talk,
we laugh,
we whisper.
We smile that knowing smile at each other.
For all the world, we are two people in love.

Take a closer look,
surely he is her father!
Should they really be looking at each other like that?
Close, yet no physical contact
but the signs are there for all that look.

What life can I offer you?
No children!
A lonely old age, I will be long gone by the time you are middle aged.
Yet still I dream of you constantly,
knowing that you dream of me.
‘Till now we have only flirted,
we both know we want more.
Will I do the selfish thing and take your future away,
for a few years of fun?
Will you regret what could happen if you do choose me?

He looks on with sorrow,
wishing things could be different.
He wants to be younger, not wishing her older.
He continues to flirt,
feeling flattered by her attention.
If they get any closer, would he back off?

©2011 Trevor Litchfield

Previous Post
Next Post

3 Comments

  1. Indigo Spider

     /  November 8, 2011

    So thrilled to see you posted! This is thought provoking and sad. I hope he does go for it despite the age difference — love doesn’t know age.

    • Thanks Indigo Spider, this is something I’ve been a witness to for some time now and still they flirt 🙂

      • Indigo Spider

         /  November 13, 2011

        Maybe they just enjoy the flirting. Guess the romantic in me still hopes they get together 🙂

NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose, poetry, and music.

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

