Update

The urge to create is still one I seem to have lost but the urge to write has returned for the today at least! So for anyone that is interested here’s a quick catch-up on what has been going on in Trevor Towers these last few months. This isn’t a timeline or a confessional, I’m writing this simply because I need to, if you enjoy reading it then we’re all happy.

To start with, I’m still struggling with depression! I seem to be on a long and winding road that always comes back to where I found myself during the summer. My mind seems to let the real me come through a little more often recently but it only takes one tiny spark of a thought and I’m back staring into the abyss.

I have finally found work after nearly three years of unemployment. Although initially a temporary position for just six weeks back in early September, they extended it to Christmas soon after and I’m really hopeful that I will get offered a long term contract come Christmas.

Getting this job has been almost a life saver for me. Mentally it has given my mind a break from the ever darker thoughts that were invading and it has given me something active to do, which has helped my high blood pressure no end. I had become very lazy at home all day every day and along with depression, I had reached the stage where I wasn’t going out for days at a time. Not healthy!

It has also brought some fantastic people into my life! I have been able to share my experience with depression with a couple of them as we seemed to have discovered each other and our shared illness quite quickly after I started work. Then there are the happy people, they bring light into my days that I had forgotten had existed but most of all, and something that has surprised me as we have only really known each other a short time, a couple of them have become close friends.

Although the money is very welcome, the people are the ones I cherish and crave the most. I have found I can laugh once more. I have also found an honesty within myself that hasn’t been there for sometime, whether it’s because I finally have other things to occupy my mind, or it is simply being around other, new and exciting people, I don’t care. All I know is it has been excellent medicine for me and I really hope I can continue to take it for some time to come yet.

Previous Post

7 Comments

  1. Indigo Spider

     /  November 13, 2011

    This is great to read and brings a smile to my face. Thanks for sharing and I, too, hope it turns into a permanent position. Even if it doesn’t, I hope the friendships you have formed continue since that is an important part of beating back depression. All the best Trevor!

  2. Yay! I’m all smiles for you Trevor! I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you and hope it becomes a permanent job. Unless you’re fortunate not to need the money we all need to work but it certainly is the relationships we form that make it worth while, even if some are not to your taste, as is always the way, at least it keeps the mind active. But I’m glad you’ve made some quality connections there too.

    A good news story indeed and worthy of a cheer!

    Woop!

  3. welcome back Trevor – you have been missed!
    very happy to hear all these positive happenings in your life – sounds like you are building a great community who can support each other and help through tough times.

    i am so happy about the job situation as well! this is excellent news to read.

    continuing to holding good thoughts for you…

  4. Yayy, Trevor, so glad to hear about the happiness that has entered your life. I hope the job continues; but even if it doesn’t, I bet the friendships will continue. There’s nothing like people with similar problems sharing on how they deal with them to inspire you.

    And I’m glad to hear how happy people affect you. I am usually a happy person, so it’s very positive reinforcement on how I can be of service to others, just by being me.

  5. Welcome back Trevor. Whether you feel like posting or not, still good news all around.

  6. I’m so pleased for you Trevor, an uplift like this is just what’s needed … I hope the job goes on from strength to strength…and continues to bring you light into the dark places your mind was determined to take you. Health and happiness is what’s important, .. (with wealth coming in at third…’cos paying bills is always an option . 😉 ) Fantastic news my friend. xPenx

  7. Thank you each and every one of you that read and replied. The road is long and winding but I seem to have found a map, all I need now is a compass 🙂

NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose and poetry

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

