Sleeping Desires

In it’s defence, it cannot help itself!
Who can control all that their mind and body desires?
The emotions that well up inside, that cause desires to grow?
Desires that are easily satisfied if nature has her way.
How can I let the animal within take over?
I have controlled it all these years,
wanting to be part of a whole not just glimpse it’s treasures.
Daily I struggle to contain this life, straining to break free,
attempting not to look at the unobtainable fruit.
Still I peek through slatted fingers,
hiding my eyes yet straining to see!
Eventually the guardian sees my actions,
moves me on to pastures new, unmapped.
The beast hibernates, waiting for fresh emotions,
something new, bringing life where once was slumber.
When finally this beast is fed, do not alarm yourself,
for harm is not it’s goal!
It will lavish tenderness on all it finds,
’till then let it sleep in quiet solitude.

©2011 Trevor Litchfield

Previous Post

2 Comments

  1. Indigo Spider

     /  November 22, 2011

    I have missed your poetry and this is such a lovely, hope filled piece. There is fear underneath, experiencing something new, but full of joy at the possibilities… lovely.

    • Thanks Indigo Spider. I seem to have more words in my mind now so hopefully more will find themselves on the page before too long.
      I’m pleased you found what I was attempting to express with this as well

NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose and poetry

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

