Deserted Beach

Long stretches of golden sand before my eyes,
the sea lapping gently as if caressing the land.
Quiet on this midwinter day, yet full of wonder.
Walking along the deserted beach,
chill north winds bringing water to my eyes.
Sand packed hard as frost and wind
do their best to keep the land frozen.
Razor shells protruding like mini way markers
along the route, leading further than the eye can see.
Sand blasted away from these protrusions by gusts,
leaving shallow sand trails I their wake.

Low dunes offering sanctuary to sheltering wildlife,
cowering from the frozen blasts among grass and heather.
Spiders, ants and a myriad other insects,
attempting to gain a slender foothold on the drifting sand.
Sea birds hop along the shoreline, searching for a meal,
then wheeling up into the air as I approach.
Squawking out to their comrades, warning of my presence.
I walk on leaving my own footprints in the sand,
footprints covered by nightfall with newly frozen sand.
Water laps ever higher up the beach,
until it is time to return to the depths.

©2012 Trevor Litchfield

Previous Post
Comments are closed.
NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose, poetry, and music.

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

